Search 72,199 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Rachel S.

Piano, Guitar, and English Tutor

Denver, CO (80231)

Travel radius
13 miles
Hourly fee
$60.00
Email Rachel S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rachel S.

Rachel S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have a Bachelor of Arts in Music Composition. I teach piano, beginning guitar and music theory. I have taught music to adults and children for 4 years.

I have also completed a Masters Degree in Teaching English as a Second Language. I have taught and tutored E.S.L. and English from Kindergarten through the college level for 3 years. I would be glad to tutor anyone in editing, Reading, Writing, APA and MLA formats, or Grammar. I also tutor TOEFL.

Email Rachel

Rachel’s subjects

English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
TOEFL
History:
Music History
Music:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Corporate Training:

Elementary (K-6th)

I am currently qualified by the Colorado Department of Education to be a Substitute Teacher in Colorado Schools due to a statement of eligibility to begin work on an alternative route teacher's license. I have tutored professionally with success at the 1st-6th grade level. I also have experience working with students individually and in small groups as a Kindergarten Teacher's Assistant at a Elementary School.

English

M.A. Teaching English as a Second Language.
Part-time Reading Faculty: Community College of Denver 2010
English Tutor: Community College of Denver 2009-2011

General Music

I have a bachelors degree in Music Composition, passed the Colorado state PLACE Exam in July, and currently have a statement of Eligibility from the Department of Education to teach K-12 music in the state of Colorado.

Grammar

I have a Master of Arts in Teaching English as a Second Language. This involves training in teaching Grammar. I have tutored students in Grammar for 3 years. This includes students in every level from basic to advanced levels and from kids in Kindergarten up to adults in College.

Guitar

I have a bachelors degree in music. I took guitar in college and learned how to play classical and acoustic guitar - this includes picking and strumming. I know how to read TAB and chord charts as well as actual notes on a staff. I know how to reduce chords to make them easier for kids to play. I could teach students at the beginning level.

Music Theory

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Music composition. This requires an extensive knowledge of Music Theory. I include music theory in music lessons to help my students on a regular basis.

Phonics

I was a kindergarten T.A. for 1 yr. and assisted teachers by working with individual and small groups of kids learning phonics. I also have a Master of Arts in Teaching English as a Second Language, and part of my training involved techniques for teaching phonics.

Piano

I have a Bachelors Degree in Music and my main instrument is piano. I took lessons for 16 years and play at an advanced professional level. In the past I have been privileged to teach children ages 5-17 at Midtown School of Performing Arts. I have also taught children and adults in my own private studio for 2 years.

Proofreading

I tutored students in how to proofread papers in APA and MLA format for 2 1/2 years while I was a tutor/teacher at the Community College of Denver.

Study Skills

I tutored Study Skills at the Community College of Denver for 2 1/2 years. The tutoring sessions included assistance helping students to find and utilize their strengths to produce more effective study skills . Sessions also involved assistance in how to pinpoint concepts for tests and techniques for memorizing information.

Writing

I tutored students at the Community College of Denver for two and a half years. The official subjects were English as a Second Language and Reading at the college preparatory level, but I also helped students with other subjects, such as regular college English and writing. I assisted students from the college writing center on a regular basis and they came back to show me the good grades they got on their papers. You will find that I am able to easily explain grammar, sentence structure, organization of ideas, paragraph structure, writing formats or any other aspect of English and help you begin using the concepts during our tutoring sessions.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Rachel

back to top

Education

Oral Roberts University (Music)

Oral Roberts University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 13 miles of Denver, CO 80231.

Email Rachel

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.