Search 72,267 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Elise G.

Retired Teacher With 35 years of experience

Castle Rock, CO (80104)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Elise G.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Elise G.

Elise G. passed a background check on 10/16/14. The check was ordered by Elise through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Elise, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a retired teacher who worked in Jefferson County Schools for 31 years. I taught grades 5-6 throughout my career. Since retiring I have substitute taught in grades K-8 and really enjoy working with middle school students. I have a passion for teaching and have a positive connection with students. I have also tutored students who are in ESL programs, have learning disabilities, physical challenges, or have simply needed a little boost to gain some academic confidence. I have strengths in Reading, Writing, Study Skills, basic math understanding, and content comprehension. I have a great deal of patience and have the ability to help students find their strengths in basic subject areas. I look forward to working with you and your child.

Email Elise

Elise’s subjects

Math:
English:
ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading

ADD/ADHD

Throughout my career I have dealt with student with a vast range of challenges. I have patience and a caring manner in helping students with a wide range of learning issues.

Aspergers

While I was a full-time teacher I worked with students with Aspergers. I have a Master's Degree in Psychology and am well aware of a wide variety of challenges that face today students labeled with Aspergers. I believe my patience and empathy are strong assets in dealing with all students.

Autism

Throughout my 31 year teaching career I was able to work with a wide range of students with a wide range of learning needs. Since retiring, I have frequently substituted in a severe-needs classroom. My Master's degree is in guidance and psychology and I am well aware of the unique needs of autistic students.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a retired elementary teacher with 30+ years experience. I have a positive way with students and have worked with all levels of students. I understand learning issues and am able to connect to the learning style unique to each student.

Elementary Math

I have passed the elementary math test on this site with a 100% score. My 35+ years of teaching math at the elementary level has given me many skills to help students feel more confident about their math abilities.

Prealgebra

I have passed this site's pre-algebra test with a score of 100%. I taught math to 5-6th graders for 30+ years and feel confident that I can work with pre-algebra students to help them acquire strategies for success.

Special Needs

I have worked with a broad range of special needs students throughout my career. I have a positive way with studets and am able to help them embrace doing the best to their ability.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Elise

back to top

Education

University of Northern Colorado

Eastern Ilinois Unversity . (Master's)

Colorado State University (Graduate Coursework)

Fantastic Tutor Who We All Love — Elise is wonderful. She is very knowledgeable and her ability to convey her knowledge to my son in a way he understands is fantastic. Her 30 years of teaching experience shows as she is patient and gears the work towards his learning style. She is so pleasant, smiles all the time, and is personable. She loves kids and my tween son adores her as we all do. She is very trust worthy and I feel very c ...

— Donna, Parker, CO on 11/1/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Elise will travel within 15 miles of Castle Rock, CO 80104.

Email Elise

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Elise a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elise or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.