Search 75,638 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Duncan H.

College, High School, and Middle School Math and Science Tutor

Boulder, CO (80302)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$42.00
Email Duncan H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Duncan H.

Duncan H. passed a background check on 9/6/11. The check was ordered by Duncan through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Duncan, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello, my name is Duncan :)

First a bit about my own education: I recently graduated from CU Boulder with a BA with majors in Molecular Biology, Biochemistry, and Psychology (as well as minors in Chemistry, Philosophy and Neuroscience). I've had a hardcore intellectual bent since childhood and my future career goals include graduate work in philosophy, law, medicine and the ways in which these disciplines intersect.

As far as teaching goes, I've been at it for the last seven years. Most of my experience was in the form of one-on-one homework help sessions with middle and high school students from low income communities around Cleveland, Ohio and Boulder, Colorado organized by two non-profit organizations: the Educational Resource Center and the Family Learning Center (resume available upon demand). I've also proctored summer school classes for five summers where I was individually responsible for running almost all of the math and science classes offered by the center. While at college, I also tutored a number of my friends and classmates in a range of different subjects on a more informal basis, worked as a Teaching Assistant for CU Boulder's flagship Neuroscience class, assisted in running several upper division political philosophy classes, taught high school anatomy classes accompanied by live dissections, and ran an independent research project examining biochemical mechanisms of bacterial evolution

Although most of my education has centered around learning biology, I've had extensive practice with college level math (having completed multivariable calculus, at the highest), chemistry, physics, and psychology and feel confident in my ability to tackle nearly any of these topics up to a college undergraduate level, though I've had extensive practice tutoring middle and high school level material as well. In my approach, I value patience and mutual understanding as crucial to making progress in learning about mathematics and the natural sciences. I've also worked with many students with mild to moderate learning disabilities and I always pay close attention to ensure that we are working at a pace that is most appropriate to the students' needs and I have learned to be broadly adaptive to the needs of both struggling and gifted students.

Teaching has always been a pleasure to me, and I always make an effort to nurture my students' innate spark of curiosity. Although I consider it my first priority to understand what the student wants from me and how I can get that to them (whether it's just better grades, or a more comprehensive understanding of a topic), I always do what I can to make the teaching process as engaging and enjoyable as possible. Whether it's help with homework, studying for tests, or just sating one's natural curiosity, I've done it all and would be delighted to assist more new pupils on their intellectual journey.

Email Duncan

Duncan’s subjects

Algebra 1

I have been tutoring and teaching high school level Algebra 1 for nearly 6 years. I have extensive experience helping students learn new material, finish homework, and study for tests.

Algebra 2

I have been responsible for proctoring summer school classes for both semesters of Algebra 2 for 4 summers in the last 5 years. I have extensive experience teaching new material, helping with homework, and studying for tests in this subject.

Biochemistry

I have taken significant course material (a full year of Biochemistry, and a full year of Physical Chemistry with Biological Applications) at a college level to complete my major in Biochemistry at University of Colorado at Boulder. Additionally, I currently work part-time in a biochemical research laboratory at CU studying bacterial evolution.

Biology

I completed extensive biology coursework in the process of earning my BA in Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology. However, I am also more than familiar with the standard gamut of high school and undergraduate college level material. I've proctored Biology classes every summer for the last 7 years, and have worked as a Teaching Assistant for CU Boulder's flagship Introduction to Neuroscience program. I have also taught numerous high school anatomy classes, and led live hands-on dissections on anatomical specimens.

Chemistry

In the process of completing my major in Biochemistry at the University of Colorado, Boulder, I completed the year-long basic chemistry sequence, a full year or organic chemistry, a full year of physical chemistry (with biochemical applications), and a full year of graduate level biochemistry classes, eventually earning a minor in Chemistry. I have proctored chemistry classes at the high school level in summer classes several times over the last 7 years, and have individually tutored several people on the topic on many occasions.

Genetics

I have taken numerous classes (including Genetics, Molecular Biology, Cellular Biology, Biology of the Cancer Cell, Immunology, and Developmental Biology) at a college level for my major in Molecular, Cellular, and Development Biology at the University of Colorado at Boulder. I have had extensive practice with genetics concepts and some experience teaching the material to others.

Geometry

I have proctored summer school classes for high school level geometry for 4 summers in the last 5 years and have had extensive experience helping students learn new material, finish their homework from school, and study for tests in this subject during after-school tutoring programs.

Microbiology

I have completed intensive coursework in several of the core areas of microbiology (Cellular and Molecular Biology, Genetics, Biochemistry, Immunology, Developmental Biology, Neuroscience) in the progress of earning a BA at the University of Colorado at Boulder with majors in Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, Biochemistry, and Psychology, with an undergraduate certificate in Neuroscience. I also worked on an independent research project in a biochemistry lab at CU Boulder, doing work concerning the biochemical mechanisms underlying the evolution of bacterial proteins (resume available upon demand).

Organic Chemistry

I graduated from the University of Colorado at Boulder with a BA in Biochemistry, and took the full year-long organic chemistry sequence as necessary to fulfill the major's requirements. I ended up finishing the second semester of the class with one of the highest grades of the section, and continued to use these skills in upper division biochemistry classes, my research experience in the biochemistry department, and various teaching jobs.

Philosophy

I have a solid background in the study of modern western philosophy (Renaissance - Modern), though I am always trying to expand my knowledge base by reading from authors from a variety of backgrounds, be they eastern, western, modern or ancient. I received a minor in philosophy from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Physical Science

I have been tutoring and teaching middle and high school level Physical Science for nearly 7 years, both proctoring summer school classes, and assisting students individually with schoolwork. Furthermore, I have studied physics and chemistry at a college level extensively in the completion of my major in Biochemistry at the University of Colorado Boulder, and have a great deal of experience working with middle school, high school, and college students with this subject.

Physics

I have completed, and have had some experience tutoring, college-level physics.

Prealgebra

I have had about 5 years experience with tutoring middle and high school students in prealgebra during after-school tutoring sessions. I have extensive experience helping students finish homework from school and study for tests.

Psychology

I have taken substantial course material (including General Psychology, Social Psychology, Behavioral Neuroscience, Psychopathology, and the History of Psychology) at a college level for my major in Psychology at the University of Colorado at Boulder. I am especially knowledgeable with topics relating to neuroscience and biological psychology.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Duncan

back to top

Education

University of Colorado, Boulder

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $42.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Duncan will travel within 20 miles of Boulder, CO 80302.

Email Duncan

Usually responds in about 14 hours

Send Duncan a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Duncan or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.