Search 74,315 tutors

Henry H.

Mr. Giant Teacher

Whittier, CA (90603)

Travel radius
25 miles
Hourly fee
Email Henry H.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Henry H.

Henry H. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Henry, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I'm one of those male teachers where children gravitate to me. I'm an energetic and passionate teacher, and I can relate to children. I have the motivation and dedication to ensure success. I use lots of examples. I teach in all styles of learning: auditory, visually, and kinesthetically. Every child is different, so I tend to child's needs to the best of my ability. My motto has always been "teach to learn, I teach to apply." I've been through multiple school districts substituting, as well as having my own classroom. I know and understand the way children operate, so I can manipulate that to my advantage.

I have been a part of the public and private school system. I was a Mathematics teacher for Junior High, at a private school, and I have substituted in six districts, grade levels Kindergarten through eighth grade. I hold students expectations to the highest and I intend to bring those students to my level. I treat all children with respect just like I would another adult.

Currently, I work as a GED teacher for reading and writing. Since January of last year, I hold a 75% pass rate for writing and a 92% pass rate for reading. I am a very successful teacher. My students love me, and it shows. I would love to transfer my success onto your child or children.

Email Henry

Henry’s subjects

Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Proofreading, Public Speaking
Basketball, Bodybuilding, Chess, Cooking, Football, Poker, Swimming, Track & Field
Algebra 1, English, Reading
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Drawing, Theatre
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Vocabulary
Ear Training, Guitar
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer)
Algebra 1, Differential Equations, Discrete Math
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary


I play in an adult league, where I play as center and power forward. I average six points a game, with six rebounds. I am 6"3' and 240 pounds. We run a 2-3 zone defense (two at the top of the key, two on the wings, one in the center of the key). In addition to zone, we play man defense to change up routine. We run plays like clock killing and pic 'n roll to confuse our opponents. I can teach all of these skills to students.


I am 6"3', 240 pounds. I have 23% body fat. I lift weights four to five days a week. I can bench press, deadlift, and squat more than my own weight. I have been lifting weights and have been active for more than seven years.


I play chess competitively. I am active on both online and live chess games. I currently hold an international rating.

Discrete Math

I've taught almost all types of mathematics. When I taught high school, we used discrete math a majority of the time. We focused in on objects mainly, but I explained the process thoroughly.


I am an avid enthusiast and participant. I understand the rules and guidelines of the game. I have been playing football for years. I used to play wide receiver where I would run hot routes (easy catch) or streaks and posts. Since I am tall, the quarterback used to lob the ball to me about 15 yards out of the endzone and I would grab the ball, because nobody could jump higher than me.


I have been playing electric guitar for years now. I play classic rock mostly. I use Pentatonic Scales patterns one through five, mostly for solos, and Harmonic Minor for mood music. I am confident that I can tutor others.

Networking (Computer)

I am a freelance computer technical support agent. I have been working on computer networks for years. I used to work for DLink routers as an over the phone tech, and screen share tech for four years. We serviced routers, hubs, switches, and cables (CAT 5 types).

Public Speaking

I'm a teacher. It requires lots of public speaking. In college, I gave many speeches and projects with lengthy topics. I know how to speak in public.


I've taught my two nieces and godson how to swim. My dad, at the age of 60, finally learned how to swim. It's all a matter of coordination and understanding how the body is able to stay afloat without much thought.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Henry

back to top


Cal State, Fullerton (Child Development)

National University (Master's)

National University (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Henry will travel within 25 miles of Whittier, CA 90603.

Email Henry

Usually responds in about 15 hours

Send Henry a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Henry or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.