Search 72,655 tutors
FIND TUTORS

EDDIE D.

Walnut, CA

$50/hr

Science-oriented with public speaking and proof-reading skills

Science-oriented with public speaking and proof-reading skills

Message EDDIE

Send EDDIE a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed EDDIE or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hello Potential Students:

If you're looking for a motivated, patient and effective tutor, look no further. If you select me as your tutor, I would like you to know that I have a diverse background due to my educational training, work experience and many many presentations.

I work as a clinical pharmacist at a local hospital and as retail pharmacist. My interests include: Psychiatry, Communications, Public speaking, presentations, essay/document editing, proofreading. During my spare time, I enjoy hiking, running, walking my dogs and trying new food.

In my hospital job, I work as a clinical pharmacist responsible for monitoring various psychotropic medications. It is my job to screen for potential drug-drug interactions, educate our hospital team (Nurses, Psychologists and Case managers), educate patients regarding potential side effects and lead daily inpatient groups. Part of my nonclinical duties include educating the hospital staff regarding new medications (in-services), monitoring for quality improvement, preparing various power point presentations and CE's. The most creative skill in this setting is breaking down the pharmacological minutia into terms/concepts that everyone can understand.

In addition to my clinical duties, I also precept pharmacy students (daily) from the local pharmacy school (Future pharmacists). Three students are assigned to me for 6 weeks at a time. I work with them for 40 hours/week; overseeing their assignments, discussing cases and evaluating drug management. I've precepted students from various cultures, varying ages and diverse backgrounds. The students I've worked with have all given me great reviews and left having a sense of accomplishment. My job is to make sure that they experience real-world applications and apply that to their textbook knowledge. I write their exams and quizzes, design the various assignments/projects and facilitate individual growth. At the completion of 6 weeks, another 3 students are assigned for their next rotation.

Aside from my hospital job, I also work as a retail pharmacist. There, I dispense various medications not limited to psychotropic medications. In this setting, I dispense the majority of the medication spectrum including: Antihypertensives, antilipidemia, antidiabetic, antiinflammatory medications and so on. There, I focus on working quickly, efficiently and always maintaining a positive demeanor as I work with various team members.

If selected, you will have a tutor that has experience teaching others and patience.

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Writing
Science:
Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology,
Physiology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Word
Language:
Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Spanish, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Pharmacology

I work as a licensed Clinical Pharmacologist in a psychiatric hospital. I earned my Doctor of Pharmacy degree at the Western University of Health Sciences. In addition, I obtained my Bachelor's of Science in Chemistry with an emphasis in Biochemisty from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.

Track & Field

I ran cross country and track and field during high school. Today, I run for exercise and interest. I use running as a means to condition for hiking and running 5Ks.

Cal Poly Pomona
Western University
Other

Education

Cal Poly Pomona

Western University (Other)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

EDDIE will travel within 8 miles of Walnut, CA 91789.


About EDDIE

Hello Potential Students:

If you're looking for a motivated, patient and effective tutor, look no further. If you select me as your tutor, I would like you to know that I have a diverse background due to my educational training, work experience and many many presentations.

I work as a clinical pharmacist at a local hospital and as retail pharmacist. My interests include: Psychiatry, Communications, Public speaking, presentations, essay/document editing, proofreading. During my spare time, I enjoy hiking, running, walking my dogs and trying new food.

In my hospital job, I work as a clinical pharmacist responsible for monitoring various psychotropic medications. It is my job to screen for potential drug-drug interactions, educate our hospital team (Nurses, Psychologists and Case managers), educate patients regarding potential side effects and lead daily inpatient groups. Part of my nonclinical duties include educating the hospital staff regarding new medications (in-services), monitoring for quality improvement, preparing various power point presentations and CE's. The most creative skill in this setting is breaking down the pharmacological minutia into terms/concepts that everyone can understand.

In addition to my clinical duties, I also precept pharmacy students (daily) from the local pharmacy school (Future pharmacists). Three students are assigned to me for 6 weeks at a time. I work with them for 40 hours/week; overseeing their assignments, discussing cases and evaluating drug management. I've precepted students from various cultures, varying ages and diverse backgrounds. The students I've worked with have all given me great reviews and left having a sense of accomplishment. My job is to make sure that they experience real-world applications and apply that to their textbook knowledge. I write their exams and quizzes, design the various assignments/projects and facilitate individual growth. At the completion of 6 weeks, another 3 students are assigned for their next rotation.

Aside from my hospital job, I also work as a retail pharmacist. There, I dispense various medications not limited to psychotropic medications. In this setting, I dispense the majority of the medication spectrum including: Antihypertensives, antilipidemia, antidiabetic, antiinflammatory medications and so on. There, I focus on working quickly, efficiently and always maintaining a positive demeanor as I work with various team members.

If selected, you will have a tutor that has experience teaching others and patience.

Education

Cal Poly Pomona
Western University
Other

Education

Cal Poly Pomona

Western University (Other)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 8 miles of Walnut, CA 91789

EDDIE’s Subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Writing
Science:
Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Microbiology, Pharmacology,
Physiology
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Word
Language:
Spanish
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Spanish, Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for EDDIE D.

EDDIE D. passed a background check on 2/5/14. The check was ordered by EDDIE through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to EDDIE, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.