Search 74,325 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Johanna G.

English/ESOL Tutor

Sylmar, CA (91342)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Johanna G.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Johanna G.

Johanna G. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Johanna, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi everyone!

Let me start off by congratulating you for looking into hiring a tutor. Whether you pick me or somebody else, it is a truly wonderful thing to want to hone your skills in any field of academia.

My name is Johanna, and I come from the tiny island of Malta in the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, situated right between Sicily and North Africa. The first thing that probably popped into your head upon reading that is "Who on earth would want to hire her as an English tutor if her native language isn't even English?!" Allow me to put those concerns immediately to rest - English IS in fact my native tongue, along with Maltese. Malta was colonized by the British for more than 200 years and the result of that is a bilingual nation. Our accent is almost completely British, and our English is quite perfect, if I may be so bold. Our schools place extreme importance on the precise execution of both written and spoken English from a very young age. Now that you have an idea of my background, I'll tell you a little more about what I can personally bring to the table as your English/ESOL tutor.

Since early childhood, I had a profound interest in language. Books became my closest consort soon after I'd first laid eyes on the printed word. By the time I was 8, I was averaging around 12 books a week. By the age of 15, I was able to speak Italian and French quite fluently, along with my native English and Maltese. At 17, I received my ESOL teaching diploma (known in Europe as TEFL) and was teaching English to people of all ages by the time I was 18. At 20, I came to the US where I enrolled in Montgomery College, a community college based in Montgomery County, Maryland, where I often tutored fellow students in English and Spanish. I majored in Foreign Languages (with a focus on Spanish and Arabic) and graduated in 2010 with a 3.95 GPA and three types of Honors. I intend to further my studies in language as soon as my financial situation permits me to. Meanwhile, I continue to study Spanish, Arabic and linguistics on my own time.

What is linguistics, you might ask? Linguistics is the scientific study of language and its structure, including the study of morphology, syntax, phonetics, and semantics. In plain English, I study why a language is built the way it is, its history, and its connection to other languages. My favorite area of linguistics is undoubtedly etymology.

What does all this mean for you, the student? My strong background in both British and American English, written and spoken, my undying love and passion for all things language, my ability to speak several languages, my history teaching English, and perhaps most importantly my ability to explain the reason for why things are the way they are, make me uniquely qualified to help nurture a keen and able mind, as I do so with unabashed enthusiasm. No question is unimportant, no idea mocked. I also recognize the individual needs and learning methods of each and every student; whether it's videos, discussions, games, quizzes, tests, or simply following a structured textbook, or a combination of it all - just ask, and it will be delivered. Ideally, I want my students to feel like they can ask any question under the sun, as I feel "why" is more important than "what". I strongly believe that once our mind understands the "why" behind something, it's imprinted there permanently. My mission for you as your tutor is for you to come eager and leave enlightened.

I hope to hear from you soon!

Email Johanna

Johanna’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Spanish
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ASVAB, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish, TOEFL
Math:
Prealgebra
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Johanna

back to top

Education

Current: Montgomery College: Rockville Campus

Very knowledgeable, and considerate Johanna gave few sessions to my son on how to improve his writing skills. She showed high level of professionalism and dedication. She had a lot to teach him and was able to take him to a much higher level when it comes to his writing skills. In addition to her diverse knowledge in different fields, she was very pleasant and considerate. She was liked by all of us, specially my little daughter. ...

— Moustafa from Sylvania, OH on 10/20/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Johanna will travel within 10 miles of Sylmar, CA 91342.

Email Johanna

Usually responds in about 17 hours

Send Johanna a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Johanna or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.