Search 73,167 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Emily P.

ELA/Math Tutor for 1st-8th, Middle/High School Writing Tutor

Seal Beach, CA (90740)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Emily P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Emily P.

Emily P. passed a background check on 1/13/14. The check was ordered by Emily through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Emily, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I obtained my English Bachelors at UCLA and my Masters at USC in Print Journalism. I enjoy working with students from elementary to high school, and making learning as interactive as possible. I enjoy tutoring English, reading, literature, writing and journalism. My experience includes two years' tutoring high school-aged students and two years' tutoring elementary-aged students. My skills include Microsoft Office, Word, proofreading, essay writing, critical thinking and analysis, reading and several different styles of writing. I would look forward to the opportunity to share these skills with tutoring students.

Most recently, have received by 30-day emergency substitute permit and did well on the CBEST last May, especially the writing section. I also have skills with teaching mental math and teaching basic elementary math through pre-algebra. For advanced Math I did well in college statistics and High School Geometry. However, I do not feel comfortable teaching Pre-Calculus or Calculus.

Email Emily

Emily’s subjects

Computer:
Desktop Publishing, Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer)
Music:
Music Theory, Sight Singing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Proofreading

Desktop Publishing

I have a Master's in Print Journalism from Annenberg, and 5 years' journalism experience. I have worked for several publications. I have also created pamphlets. I am proficient in InDesign, Quark and Photoshop.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am a junior teacher in a 1st/2nd grade combined classroom, and I have group tutored students up to 10 at a time ranging in grades from 2nd-8th. I have also private tutored in grades 1-6. I also carry my 30-day-emergency-substitute-permit. In Math I use mental math techniques, and in English I teach using comprehension questions and phonics practice for students struggling with reading.

English

I was an English major from UCLA, and I have a Masters in Print Journalism from USC. I specialize in helping with grammar, reading comprehension, and writing skills. My tutoring experience includes several years of private tutoring. I worked as a copy editor for several years which helps with the grammar and writing portion. The reading portion of English with critical analysis, was honed with my American Literature and Culture concentration (a division of the English major).

Grammar

Editing writing for grammar and properly constructing sentences is part of my approach to the subject. Specifically I specialize in subject verb agreement, commas, spelling, word choice, varying sentence structure, parallel structure, and tense consistency. I try to assign worked based on areas a student is struggling in, in his or her writing assignments.

Literature

I help with reading comprehension a for wide variety of levels from elementary school to college. A large part of this includes literary devices, character development, plot and analysis. i try to assess a student's interests and reading level and assign appropriate passages and works of literature for the student's reading level while still challenging the student. I also try to follow along with any school assigned reading and quiz their understanding with a variety of comprehension questions.

Macintosh

I have owned and used Macs since I was 10 years old. I use them to work from home as a junior teacher, tutor, and writer. I am highly proficient in Macintosh operating systems and programs.

Proofreading

Proofreading my work or others' work for general English, business, or journalism are some of the various types of proofreading experience I have acquired. This includes three years experience as a copy editor and three years experience as a private tutor.

Reading

I help with all levels of reading, comprehension and analysis. My degree is an English major from UCLA. I specialize in analyzing quotations and integrating them into papers.

Sight Singing

I play Piano and sing by reading sheet music. I took eight years of piano lessons and voice lessons. I have been in several a capella choirs and audition only choruses where sight reading was required, throughout high school and college, as well as post-college.

Writing

I am equally skilled with academic and journalistic styles of writing. Also, I am aware of when to use each and how they overlap and contrast. I know academic writing from my time as an English major at UCLA and three years of experience as a tutor. I know journalistic styles of writing from my five years of experience as a journalist and two years of journalism school at USC.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Emily

back to top

Education

UCLA

Bachelor in English (Other)

USC- Annenberg- Print Journalism (Master's)

Very helpful! Emily is excellent tutor for my son. She is very professional and has lots of training experience with reading and writing. She is not just teaching skills and practice, but also bringing different angles and viewpoints on how to thinking to write an essay or story. She understands kids and knows how to find their strengths and weaknesses. ...

— Leo from Irvine, CA on 6/9/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Emily will travel within 40 miles of Seal Beach, CA 90740.

Email Emily

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Send Emily a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Emily or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.