Search 73,888 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Rafael N.

Professional tutoring with a very playful and visual approach

Santa Cruz, CA (95060)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Rafael N.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rafael N.

Rafael N. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rafael, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I accumulated a lot of teaching and tutoring experience in Switzerland. I tutored Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Biology, Biochemistry, English, French, German, writing, reading and oral skills (in German), more than 50 students in 17 years. I also have teaching experience in these subjects, from college students, a lot of high school to primary school and special needs classes settings. I typically get a very good connection up with students and can instinctively relate to their needs. My approach to learn and therefore teach is very intuitive and visual, making the subject almost a game.

I get very good feed back from students and a lot of them even discover the pleasure of the subject at hand. I am very experienced with a lot of learning training methods and finding the right methods for everyone.

I worked as well as a coach with learning disabled students and other special needs. I was able to significantly improve their learning abilities.

I look forward to meeting you.

Email Rafael

Rafael’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Writing
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Science, Physics
Computer:
Computer Science, General Computer, Linux, Mathematica, MATLAB, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French, German
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Autism, Dyslexia, Special Needs
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), ESL/ESOL, French, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, CBEST, GRE, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, French, General Computer, German, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word

ADD/ADHD

I have been teaching in special needs classes and taught among others pupils with ADD/ADHD. I have also been accompanying a class to a ski camp. I further have been tutoring and held learning trainings with two concerned children.

I typically work with a lot of compassion for their needs and give a lot of room for changing subjects and adapt my style to the child. I also include typically movements and exercise into the whole learning process to specifically help incorporate their needs.
My big strength in working with concerned children is my authenticity. I am real, and relate to them in a 1:1 way, I do not lie and they can count on me. This paired with my big compassion and empathy gets a connection going, a unique way to relate to the child, as unique as he/she is. I provide in my teaching boundaries in order to bring a sense of safety in, but for sure as well coupled with times of just relaxing and being silly.

I myself used to be probably a light case of ADD/ADHD as a child, undiagnosed though, and I know very well how to overcome the limitations of that condition.

Algebra 2

I passed the math in a chemistry master's program with very good grades. I have completed everything but my thesis in physical chemistry, which involved a lot of math as well.

I've had dozens of jobs as on different schools as a chemistry, physics and mathematics teacher in my home country Switzerland. I also have a lot of tutoring and coaching experience on all levels.

Computer Science

My knowledge, user and admin experience in computers is very vast. I have been working with mainframe clusters for scientific computations, have been programming and using tons of different programs.
I also assemble hardware and maintain and troubleshoot computer of friends and family in various OSes.
I have about 4 months worth of teaching experience in computer sciences in high school in Switzerland and have been tutoring 4 students very efficiently and successfully.

Geometry

- Dozens of jobs as on different schools as a chemistry, physics and mathematics teacher in my home country Switzerland.

- A lot of tutoring and coaching experience on all levels.

Linear Algebra

I was a very good student in Linear Algebra in College. I had two coeds who followed the same coursework whom I parallel tutored on the matter.
Later on I dived for a good 7 years into Quantum Mechanics and Computational Chemistry, for my Master's Thesis and my PhD.
I acquired a lot of knowledge and skills in handling with these matters.
I typically have to read up on it again, in the textbook you use and then stick close to this book.
I have a very visual and intuitive way of understanding matters like that and am very good at teaching them like that. Understanding the basic underlying principles then immensely facilitates the handling of the corresponding math.

Linux

I worked on Linux systems during my studies and my PhD. We performed computations on main frame computers, running a simple non graphical Linux. I got very experienced as a user of Linux Systems.
Further I run different Linux Systems on my own computers and set up Linux for Friends and Family.
In addition to my extremely pronounced user knowledge, I posses considerable Linux Administrator and background knowledge.
I have been instructing a lot of students, friends and family in usage of Linux on a lot of different levels.

Microsoft Windows

I have 20 years of experience in using Windows and setting it up. Even though not my OS of choice, I troubleshoot and set up often computers of friends and family with Windows.
I have been teaching computer skills and Windows twice some weeks each as a substitute teacher in a high school in Switzerland and had 3 students I very successfully tutored.

Organic Chemistry

Organic Chemistry was one of my two majors for my Master's Degree. I followed coursework in just about all aspects of it, from synthesis, to analysis, mechanisms, computational chemistry in the organic chemistry domain, even up to very specialized classes as metal organic chemistry, photo chemistry, catalysis and advanced NMR and pulse programming classes. The Master's Thesis I wrote was about computational approaches to find suitable photolabile protection groups for synthetic applications.
I have been informally tutoring and mentoring a few coeds. I had 3-4 tutoring student I accompanied through community college level Organic Chemistry and a lot of teaching experience as High Schools in that matter.

Physics

I passed the physics in a chemistry master's program with 100%.

Special Needs

I worked as a substitute teacher in 4 different settings for months at a time in special needs classes, from 4th grade up to end of middle school, back in Switzerland.
I am working right now as a 1:1 aide in a classroom setting with a disabled student.
My very calm, empathetic and authentic nature helps me a lot in connecting with individuals with special needs and I enjoy this work a lot.
I got very good feedback from working in all these different settings, from the special needs individuals, to their parents/peers to the teachers I worked with.

Study Skills

I completed an education as a stress regulation trainer and as coach. For the final work I chose learning/studying. I familiarized myself with a lot of learning methods and different approaches, in addition to a lot of background work. I studied how the brain processes what kind of information, how to best integrate the different functions, combining for instance exercises which integrate the functions of both hemisphere show a an improvement in study capacities.

The education focused by itself on a very wholistic approach to the human being and learning, as an on-going process was an important part of the curriculum.

I have already been coaching and mentoring 3-4 children and two friends in study skills and learning, with great success.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Rafael

back to top

Education

University of Fribourg, Switzerland

University of Fribourg, Switzerland (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rafael will travel within 20 miles of Santa Cruz, CA 95060.

Email Rafael

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Rafael a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rafael or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.