Search 75,753 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Sruthi D.

Science/Mathematics/English Tutor

San Rafael, CA (94913)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$37.00
Email Sruthi D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Sruthi D.

Sruthi D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sruthi, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been teaching students since the age of 11. My first experience began when I started my 3 hour dance solo practices with my teacher. I would attend every class that I could to improve my style and posture for the big day. Soon, it came to the point where I began teaching the students the ageless form of Bharathanatyam.

Since then, I have been teaching dance to a variety of students, ranging from every age group. Apart from dance, I always made sure to excel in my studies. I just graduated from Dominican University of California, where I majored in Molecular Cell Biology and minored in Chemistry as well as an Honors Student.

I have been tutoring in the sciences and mathematics field for about a year now at Dominican. I do drop-in tutoring, individual and group sessions. While studying in my undergraduate degree, I often helped my classmates out by teaching them the various aspects of Chemistry and Biochemistry needed to help us understand and present the information properly to our teachers and peers.

I love tutoring as it gives me a chance to meet new students, and give them a chance to excel in their studies.

Email Sruthi

Sruthi’s subjects

Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Statistics
Sports/Recreation:
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Science:
Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Nutrition, Philosophy, Physiology, Psychology
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Photography
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Writing, Writing

Algebra 1

I have helped my cousins in all the math classes offered. I have experience teaching young students as I used to teach dance to them on a daily basis. I now tutor science and math subjects to college students but would like to tutor all ages. I love tutoring students regardless of age, as a student myself, I know the hardships of not understanding material and I also know of the triumph and excitement I feel after I learn that material. I would love to help other students also reach the same level if not more excitement than I receive!

Algebra 2

I have experience teaching students the ageless art form Bharatanatyam as well as my cousins. I taught students of all ages from 4 to 70. I tutor college students but I would like to tutor all ages.
My fondest memories come from understanding information that I initially thought was difficult to learn. Even now, when I have a hard time with a subject I remember these memories and it always helps me get by. I would love to help other students get through their hardships and build memories to always come back to!

Chemistry

I have experience teaching a range of student ages as I used to teach dance to them on a daily basis. I have and still continue to tutor my fellow classmates as well as other students in all subjects of Chemistry, ranging from Intro to Chemistry to the higher classes taught, Biology and Mathematics. I would love to tutor all ages.

English

I took AP English in my high school and followed up with other writing classes in college. I love writing as it's one of the greatest forms of expression. I also have a passion for annotating literature and digging deep to find out the causes and reasons for the story line. I have proofread many of my classmates works and they have received high grades due to my corrections. I take a lot of time and effort in proofreading.

Microsoft Excel

I have worked with Excel for many years now. Many of my undergraduate courses required me to store data and plot each data set into graphs on a weekly basis. I have shown a variety of students how to use Excel in a way that's less time consuming. Excel is all about knowing various functions. By knowing these functions, you save a lot of time by just adding another timepoint to a graph or another data entry to a cell to obtain the data that's needed.

Nutrition

I have taken a nutrition course at a local community college and gotten a A in the class. Before the class, I knew of nutrition facts as it is a passion of mine and I furthered my knowledge by taking the course. I have not tutored in this subject but if I were to, I would begin by going over the notes, and answering any questions while also quizzing the student in the following lessons to ensure their understanding in the topics at hand.

Photography

I love photography and have taken black and white photography classes before, in high school and community college. I have both a DSLR that I use for my travels and a black and white with film that I also use. I have taken both my cameras to many performances and was the photographer at these events. I know the terminology and how the different functions of both my cameras as well as other cameras.

Proofreading

I love editing works from different students and authors as I learn about new writing styles myself. I have edited many of my friends' essays and they always have scored an A on their assignments. I pay a lot of attention to grammar, spelling and punctuation as well as sentence meanings and fragments. If needed, I have the file of my critique on a student's essay that I was required to do for a class, which my teacher later used as an example, I can send that if you would like to take a look at my style of proofreading.

Study Skills

My study skills really developed in my last year of high school and those same skills helped me out through my college experience. I have taken 4 semesters, sometimes consecutively, of 21 units and had to manage my time and study techniques properly to accomodate my other activities with my studies. I have helped several classmates and my tutoring students with my tips and tricks on how to study for certain classes.

Swimming

I have been swimming since I was 5 years old. I was also on my high school's swim team so I am familiar with the requirements for a meet. Swimming is another passion of mine that I would love to teach someone. I have taught my cousins how to swim and love to see their faces light up once they get the hang of it.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Sruthi

back to top

Education

Dominican University of California (Molecular Cell Bio)

Dominican University of California (Enrolled)

Probably a good tutor. It was helpful to chat with Sruthi about chemistry, and I can see how she could be a good tutor in the future. ...

— Kyle from San Rafael, CA on 10/16/13);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $37.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sruthi will travel within 15 miles of San Rafael, CA 94901.

Email Sruthi

Send Sruthi a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sruthi or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.