Search 75,477 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Cathryn D.

Knowledgeable Summer Tutor Who Would Like to ADVANCE Your Child!

San Gabriel, CA (91776)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Cathryn D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Cathryn D.

Cathryn D. passed a background check on 1/28/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Cathryn, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I enjoy working with a broad range of students, from K-12th grade as well as college students :) As a pre-medical student, I understand the need for tutors in helping students excel in their classes. As a former 2nd-grade teacher for an after-school program, I taught advanced English, Math, Reading Comprehension, and Writing. In addition, I taught a California Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) class every week to assure my students were well prepared and excelled on their exam. I also helped my students with their homework and made sure each of them understood and arrived at the correct answer.

I received my Bachelor of Science in Biology from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. Last year, I attended University of California, Irvine for a formal Post-Baccalaureate Program under the School of Medicine. I've taken many upper-division science and math courses which include but are not limited to: Biology (1 year), General Chemistry (1 year), Organic Chemistry (1 year), Biochemistry (1 year), Physics (1 year), Cellular Biology, Molecular Biology, Genetics, Virology, Immunology, Developmental Biology, Neurobiology, Animal Biology, Cellular Physiology, Microbiology, Biometrics, Human Sexuality, and Molecular and Cellular Basis for Disease. I also excelled in Analytical Geometry and Calculus I-II, Trigonometry, Geometry, Statistics, Pre-Calculus, and Algebra I-II.

I specialize in mostly sciences, math, and English. I am currently tutoring students in Genetics, Chemistry, and Algebra II for college and high school. I also tutor students in grade school in all subjects which include Social Studies, Math, Reading, and Science. I have tutored pre-nursing students preparing for their entrance exam. Overall, I am very versatile and can help students from a wide range of backgrounds, as well as learning styles. My goal is to help all hard-working students who care to excel in their studies :)

I am very hard-working and responsible as I make sure to arrive early to all of my tutoring sessions and also take my personal time out to review the topics I will be discussing with my students. I like to regularly check up on my students and also offer them help even without me personally being with them such as through email, text, or phone! My goal is to help my students do their best in school by providing them with the knowledge and confidence to excel in their studies. By dedicating my time and abilities in helping my students do well in their class, I also expect my students to put in the effort and practice to assure their success!

I always try to do my best as a tutor and care tremendously for each of my students. I am very sociable, outgoing, and personable and I believe it is these characteristics that have allowed me to build great relationships with all my students and their parents. I am also very patient and understanding. I work at the pace of the student and do not move forward unless they truly feel comfortable with the topic. I also constantly ask for feedback and make sure to have open communication between my students and myself. With time, not only do I see a drastic change in the grade of my students, but most importantly, I see an even better change with their confidence. This is what makes tutoring for me a very rewarding and fulfilling job!

I am very flexible with time schedules and will work around the student's schedule. My students also know that I am usually available for last minute tutoring sessions, which is a benefit to have for those "last minute" types of questions. I do, however, have a 24-hour cancellation policy as of common courtesy.

Since I am currently studying independently for my Medical College Admission Test (MCAT), I am always at the library and am available to meet with my students there. I enjoy being in a quiet, studious environment and feel the library is the best place to study, however, I am also available to meet with my students at their house. :)

I hope you find me as a great fit for your child or yourself! Please feel free to message me for any inquiries.

Email Cathryn

Cathryn’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Chemistry, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Business:
Public Speaking
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Science:
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology, Physiology, Zoology
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Discrete Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Biology

Some of the Biology classes taken include but are not limited to: One year of General Biology, Zoology, Genetics, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Physiology, Neuroscience, Cellular Physiology, Evolution, Ecology, Human and Eukaryotic Genetics, Cellular Biology, Neurobiology, and Molecular Biology.

Elementary (K-6th)

I've taught and tutored at an after-school program for over a year and passed their entrance exam in Elementary Math and English. My tutoring method is I have my students try the problem out on their own first, guide them in the correct direction if they need help, and try to have them reach the conclusion on their own. Furthermore, I provide my students with additional problems to assure they have understood the material.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Cathryn

back to top

Education

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona (Biological Sciences)

Excellent tutor! Cathryn is calm, patient, punctual, while flexible and understanding. My daughter really liked Cathryn's help and always felt like she explained the concepts better than her teacher did. She certainly focuses on the student's strength and encourages them for a successful development. ...

— Amy from Monterey Park, CA on 2/10/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

I am also open for discussing a rate change depending on the subject and location.

Travel policy

Cathryn will travel within 30 miles of San Gabriel, CA 91776.

Email Cathryn

Usually responds in about 2 hours

Send Cathryn a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Cathryn or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.