Search 75,642 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

James M.

getting ahead and making adjustments

San Francisco, CA (94116)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email James M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for James M.

James M. passed a background check on 8/25/13. The check was ordered by James through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to James, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My broad based teaching career has had me working with students of varying backgrounds including foreign students with English as a second language. I believe very strongly in establishing my students as friends while also stressing that we are '"here" to learn and that certain "lines" are not crossed. I used this philosophy successfully in bringing up my two sons as a single parent. I am dedicated to my work ethic and very conscious of my responsibilities. I believe that I can make a difference.
My experience includes five years of working with elementary age students. My most recent assignment had me working with high school level students in both History and English. In between that, I also handled tutoring work in English, history and simple Math for elementary grade students. I also worked with a group of young Russian students who needed specialized assistance as English was a second language for them.I am a published author (memoir) and also published a history book for Japanese students with limited English capabilities.

Email James

James’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Finance, Grammar, Proofreading
Test Preparation:
ACT English, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Business:
Finance
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Social Studies, World History
Language:
ESL/ESOL
English:
ACT English, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Elementary (K-6th)

I taught Elementary School for three years in Massachusetts. I took creative writing courses in college and have taught basic writing courses and vocabulary to Elementary level students. Most importantly, I have Home Schooled three Russian students in required Elementary level subjects. I passed Elementary level subject tests that required knowledge and teaching experience in Language Arts,Reading, English Grammar,Spelling,Literature, Social Studies as well as early Math and Science. All of these subjects were also taught when I home schooled the Russian students.

Social Studies

Social Studies to me, largely covers political science, history, economics, religious studies and geography. I majored in history in college and that included courses in political science, and economics. I also took a course in religious history. I taught geography to freshman high school students. Most importantly, I home schooled three Russian students at an elementary and Jr. high school level. This teaching covered all required subjects and included time spent in covering Social Studies.

Study Skills

My work with students also emphasized study skills.These involved how to organize and take in new information along with concentration techniques. Study skills for me also had my students using proper time motivation and time management capabilities. I also instructed them on how to properly condense information and the use of key words to stimulate correct answers. I also emphasized the importance of comfort level on tests by first answering those questions where they were sure of the answers and to not waste time on questions that involved more thinking. In this way they would not find themselves running out of test time.

Writing

I taught Elementary school English that included grammar, spelling, reading and writing. I also taught High School Creative Writing. I am a published author and I have tutored several clients on reading and writing.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email James

back to top

Education

Brown University (History and educatio)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Travel policy

James will travel within 20 miles of San Francisco, CA 94116.

Email James

Usually responds in about 16 hours

Send James a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed James or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.