Search 72,412 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Hannah B.

Current Law Student; Patient Yet Firm Teacher for All Ages

San Diego, CA (92123)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Hannah B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Hannah B.

Hannah B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Hannah, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a current law student at the University of San Diego looking for some weekly tutoring jobs.

I have vast experience in tutoring. First, while in high school in Colorado, I was a volunteer tutor for English as a Second Language. I was the only tutor for a group of adult refugees who needed to learn basic English in order to get jobs and better fit into society. It involved creating lesson plans, making worksheets, and teaching basic English to people whose primary language I did not understand. It was a very hard job, because I found it difficult to explain English words to someone who has never tried to speak them before, and who hears very little English on a day-to-day basis. However, hearing my students speak a complete sentence or understand a difficult concept was an amazing experience and made all of the hard work worth it.

I am aware that teaching ESL is very different than helping today's students with their homework. Because tutoring the adults was such a rewarding experience, I volunteered to be a tutor again in 2011. For one semester, I was a volunteer tutor for the Friendly Center in Orange, CA. I assisted high school students with their homework. I was a tutor for all subjects for a large group of students and was able to help them with homework, writing projects, and studying for tests.

I believe that education should be one of the biggest priorities in our lives. I have been to places where the children do not have access to education and teaching. Sometimes, we do not realize what we have and we take advantage of this privilege that others are not even offered. I truly do love learning and am very interested in passing on this love to others. I consider myself a great tutor, because I think education is very important and is something to focus on, but it does not have to be work; it can be fun! I am responsible, motivated, and would be a great role model for anyone who wants to learn.

Email Hannah

Hannah’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Nutrition, Psychology, Sociology
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Government & Politics, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Phonics
Business:
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking

ACT English

I received a 30 on the ACT when I took it in high school.
English was my best subject in high school (I even took AP English my senior year and received a 4 on the test) and I did very well on the English section of the ACT.

American History

In high school, I took regular American History, then AP US History my senior year. The class was very hard but was necessary to prepare us for the test. I passed the test with a 4. This enabled me to pass out of a history class in college.

Elementary Math

I was always good at math. I can do simple math in my head very well and think I am great at explaining elementary subjects, such as addition, multiplication, times tables, geometry, and more.
I am very capable to tutor in any section of elementary math. If you have specific questions about the type of math your student needs help in, just ask me!

Elementary Science

In elementary school, I remember learning many different types of science, ranging from geology to physics to chemistry. Science has always been interesting to me. I never took any science classes in college, but always received A's or B's in all of my science classes all throughout elementary, middle, and high school.

English

English has always been my best subject. In high school, I took AP English and received a 4 on the AP test (a 4 or 5 are the only passing grades).
In college, I minored in English, and took classes ranging from creative writing, English Literature of the World, poetry, and more. I am confident in my abilities to tutor in English because it is one of my favorite parts of school and has always been interesting.

Prealgebra

I remember taking this class in high school. I also took Algebra I and II in the years after. I was always in the higher math levels throughout middle and high school.

Public Speaking

As a law student, I need to know a lot about public speaking, getting a crowd's attention, and making my point. I have vast experience in public speaking, and have taken classes in high school and in college on the subject.

It is always a good idea to practice your speech in front of others, and I can help students feel more comfortable with preparing what they will say and with presenting the speech.

Soccer

I started playing soccer when I was 5 years old. I have played every position on the field, including goalie. I have played every year since then. I played on club teams in elementary and middle school, then was on the varsity team in high school. I still play pick up games and indoor games to this day!
I also refereed soccer from 2005-2007. I know everything there is to know about the game and I can help anyone learn it and have fun doing it!

Swimming

I have been a competitive swimmer since I was 12 years old. I swam on a summer club for five years in Colorado. I was also on the high school swim team, where we had every day practice and weekly meets. My best event was long distance freestyle, but I can swim all 4 strokes and could teach the strokes to anyone.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Hannah

back to top

Education

Chapman University

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Hannah will travel within 15 miles of San Diego, CA 92123.

Email Hannah

Usually responds in about 15 hours

Send Hannah a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Hannah or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.