Search 74,328 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Denis L.

Experienced and friendly math tutor from Oxford (PhD)

San Diego, CA (92127)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Denis L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Denis L.

Denis L. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Denis, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been tutoring in my spare time for the last seven years and I very much like helping students gain confidence in mathematics and science. In school I enjoyed helping my classmates with problems, in college I worked on the physics homework help desk in my university, worked as a teaching assistant and private tutor for college and high school students. My last tutoring experience was in Oxford, where I finished my PhD in applied mathematics this year, and in London. I had tutored 10 students of middle and high school level to prepare for exams or general review. I also have experience with younger students -- for two years I was helping 10 and 11 year old students prepare for entry exams into Eton College, Winchester, and other top boarding schools in England.

I would love the opportunity to help you or your child gain a better understanding of their subject and learn to approach mathematics problems with confidence, in school and everyday life.


Here is a more detailed description of my tutoring experience and education:

Tutoring and teaching experience:
2014:
High school student, 3 weeks of daily lessons, calculus, probability, and trigonometry to prepare for final exams (A-levels)
High school student, 2 and 2 weeks of daily lessons, algebra and trigonometry to prepare for exam (GSCE)
Middle school student, 4 months of weekend lessons and 3 weeks of daily lessons in algebra and trigonometry, to improve general knowledge
Middle school student, 1 month of weekend lessons, general mathematics
High school student, 2 weeks of daily lessons, to prepare for entry exams
Several other students for shorter durations.
2012-2013:
Tutored in mathematics two 10-11 year old boys, and two 12-13 year old boys for two years, helping to prepare for school entry exams and general mathematical knowledge.
Worked as a teaching assistant in University of Oxford on two fluid mechanics courses, marking student homework and presenting some problems in class.
Worked at Carfax Educational Consultants in Oxford as a mathematics teacher for 3 months, tutoring 5 different students ranging from middle school to end of high school.
2008-2010:
Worked as a teaching assistant in University of Denver in a Differential Equations.
Worked on the Physics Help Desk at University of Denver, helping other students with homework problems.

Education:
DPhil (PhD) in Applied Mathematics / Quantum Physics โ€“ University of Oxford, UK

MSc in Applied Mathematics / Financial Mathematics โ€“ University of Oxford, UK

BS Physics and BS Mathematics (3.90 GPA) โ€“ University of Denver, Colorado

Highlands Ranch High School, Colorado, before that attended schools in Moscow and in South Africa.

Email Denis

Denis’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Russian, SPSS, Statistics
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Science, SAT Math
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Statistics
Language:
Russian
Science:
ACT Science, Astronomy, Physics
Computer:
SPSS
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Discrete Math, Econometrics, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, SPSS, Statistics, Trigonometry

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Denis

back to top

Education

University of Denver

University of Oxford (Master's)

University of Oxford (PhD)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Discount in each session after the first hour of tutoring.

Travel policy

Denis will travel within 20 miles of San Diego, CA 92127.

Email Denis

Usually responds in about 1 day

Send Denis a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Denis or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.