Search 73,208 tutors
Over 5 tutoring hours

Elaine S.

ESL, English Writing, Math, and Essay Help for grader K-College.

San Diego, CA (92101)

Travel radius
30 miles
Hourly fee
Email Elaine S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Elaine S.

Elaine S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Elaine, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Price negotiable!

I hold a Masters in Education and a BA in English Literature.
I am an ESL tutor, and have math, science, and social studies experience through over 25 years of teaching, tutoring, and motivating wonderful students.

I can offer help with essays, editing, proofing and writing.

I work with all students. I am popular with many students and families from Asian, Spanish, Indian, and European countries because I have travelled extensively and am familiar and comfortable with diverse cultures.

My students tell me I am a kind, patient, and creative teacher.

The parents of my students tell me that they can't believe the great results they see on the report card grades.

I will help you learn how to think, build your confidence and improve your skills.

Please contact me to get started; I look forward to working with you!


Remember that WyzAnt needs your payment info on file, BUT they will not charge you for a lesson until we meet and actually have a lesson. The payment information is how WyzAnt tracks our lessons.

1- You have to first give WyzAnt your payment information SO THAT we can share our phone numbers.
2- Next we will talk on the phone and agree to meet and on what you need to have included in your tutoring curriculum. (and we will agree on the price for each lesson.)
3- THEN we have a lesson and you are charged for the lesson.

You do not need to pay anything until AFTER we have a lesson.

Thank you,

Email Elaine

Elaine’s subjects

ACT Math
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science
Adobe Photoshop, Desktop Publishing, General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Video Production
Composition (Music), Ear Training, Music Theory, Piano, Voice (Music)
Adobe Photoshop, Art Theory , Composition (Music), Drawing, Film, Painting, Video Production
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Career Development, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Piano, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, Career Development, CBEST, College Counseling, GED, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Career Development, College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking


I have tutored students who have been challenged with ADD/ADHD in reading, writing and math. My graduate thesis (MA, Ed.) was devoted to studying the application of certain technologies and innovative teaching approaches that can assist ADD/ADHD students in reading. Recently I have worked at a professional tutoring company in Del Mar with ADD/ADHD students in a goals-focused/low stimulation environment. Here I used behavioral modification techniques and positive academic interventions within the guidelines of the ADDA.

Art Theory

My extensive background in layout and composition in both fine art and computer graphics is substantial. I have taught both adults and children in the classroom, small group, and one on one. I am fluent in watercolor, drawing fundamentals and professional colored pencil media.
I have a portfolio of my work and can show several pieces if required. One of my most popular works in pencil is a study of an English Bulldog named Louie, which is on sepia paper in Prismaticcolor.
I have completed several art theory courses and studied masterworks and history at the Metro Museum in New York. During travel in Europe I studied Van Gogh and Rembrandt in their elements! I have also studied romantic era paintings with the literature of the associated eras.
I am an enthusiastic instructor and I truly enjoy creating and studying the Fine Arts.

College Counseling

I hold a Masters degree in Education with an emphasis in curriculum and technology. My skills and abilities in the areas of managing and stewarding students toward college are strong and well-developed throughout my 25 years in both private and public school teaching.
I also have successful professional experience with tutoring and training students in test-preparation, decision-making, and coaching in pursuit of a college degree.


As a teacher in the field of art history, theory, and as a professional artist, I have taught and educated children and adults on the principles and elements of art, particularly the basics related to drawing.
I currently teach art privately and focus on the elements of balance, shape, form, perspective and layering techniques.
I am comfortable with several drawing media including but not limited to graphite, charcoal, pastel and craypas. I enjoy portraiture and abstract drawing using models or photographs.
I have many years of experience teaching at the high school and elementary school level and enjoy teaching drawing to beginners and intermediate students, as well.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Masters in Education with over 30 years of experience teaching preschool and K-12 in both public and private schools. I taught and developed curriculum for K-6 at a private academy and am certified in -Beka curriculum and have taken over 2 years of early development training at the college level. I have my CBEST certification, as well and I am a substitute teacher at a private Episcopal school. I also have tutored K-12 and taught reading and writing at the elementary level.
I am a teacher and I am experienced at teaching at the elementary school level in multiple subjects.


I have taught English to students whose first language is Japanese, Spanish, and French. For 25 years I have enjoyed working with ESL/ESOL students with great success. I have tutored individually and worked with corporations. Additionally, I have stewarded world-wide training conferences for administrators and engineers visiting from around the world.
I have the patience, understanding, and that is required to teach and I look for that “magic connection” that occurs when comprehension takes place across language barriers.
I am able to relate easily to ESL students based on my multicultural background and experience.
I am well-traveled and comfortable with cultures other than my own and thus, I am able to put students from other cultures at ease.
My love and great respect for the Japanese culture and my knowledge of the differences between English and Japanese grammar is the basis for my strong teaching ability and success with students whose first language is Japanese. It is a real honor to be able to represent America to students from other nations and to welcome them to the English Language through teaching!


I am an accomplished artist with over 25 years' experience in painting in acrylic and watercolor media. I have successfully taught children and adults using my thorough method that builds confidence and skill quickly! I have a great love of painting all subjects and styles from abstract to realism.
I am educated by several artists and teachers in the San Francisco Bay Area.
I have an extensive portfolio to share, upon request.


I have taught reading and writing to beginning readers and to those students who wish to improve their skills at more advanced instructional levels.

I have used several approaches, including the Lindamood-Bell method and the Lippincott SQ3R instructional materials.

I am thoroughly familiar with the application of phonics instruction and the importance of phonics instruction to help beginning readers understand how letters are linked to sounds (phonemes) to form letter-sounds.

I use the understanding of core phonics principles to associate spelling patterns and to help students learn how to apply this knowledge in their reading.


I have taught piano for over 25 years. I have a Master's degree in Education and a certification in Piano Pedagogy from Hofstra University. I use both method and classical approaches, as well as chord theory to provide a solid foundation for my students.
I taught music for K-12 in a private school and designed an original curriculum which incorporates music history, ear-training and a focus on classics from the well-known masters to contemporary jazz greats.
I have an experienced, patient and thorough style with all ages. One of the reasons I have seen such great success with my students is that I know how to inspire new students and get them playing immediately with inspiration!

Special Needs

I have a masters in education and specialized certification in developmental disabilities with my thesis in assistive learning resources and technology for the disabled.

I also earned my certification in dyslexic needs and have worked with dysphasia in a tutoring environment.

I am particularly skilled with differently abled students who are pursuing college degrees, having worked with students who are attending college and need help tailoring their learning and studying skills to a specialized curriculum. I have had a great deal of success working with hearing and visually challenged adults and children who require customization of their curriculum in order to be successful learners.

Study Skills

I am qualified in study skills tutoring based on my Masters in Education and 25 years teaching
and consulting in various school districts in CA and MY. I have established my comprehension of study skills, learning process and organizational leadership through my direct application of the basic principles of learning. I have had great success tutoring students who need remediation in lesson study planning, study skills, time management, and various techniques for assimilation of knowledge.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Elaine

back to top


Dowling College, Oakdale L.I.N.Y.

University of Phoenix- (MEd)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Cost per session includes travel to/from student meeting site within 10 miles of area code 92101. Additional charges may apply beyond this point.

Travel policy

Elaine will travel within 30 miles of San Diego, CA 92101.

Email Elaine

Usually responds in about 8 hours

Send Elaine a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elaine or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.