Search 74,320 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Nicole D.

College student looking to tutor!

Sacramento, CA (95819)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Nicole D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Nicole D.

Nicole D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Nicole, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello,

My name is Nicole and I am currently attending Sacramento State University and pursuing a major of Child Development with a concentration in social and community setting with a minor in business. I am just about to end my fourth year there. Throughout high school I did peer tutoring for fellow students at my high school which included various subjects such as English grades 9-12, Algebra 1 through Pre-Calculus, as well as some Spanish.

I am more than willing to help enable your child to bring out the most of their potential. I know that in every student, there is the ability to do well in any course they take, and I firmly believe that I can help them to attain that goal of good grades and doing well. I am willing to do in home tutoring as long as it is not unreasonably far from Temecula, but would prefer to do tutoring in a library type setting. When I am at school I am in Sacramento and am willing to do in home tutoring, but I do prefer tutoring at a library, however I am flexible.

Parents are more than welcome to observe my tutoring sessions so they know that they can be comfortable with me and my tutoring style. I am very patient and my tutoring approach is one that is calm mannered. I understand that not all students learn the same way and it may take others a little bit more explaining. I am willing to explain it in as many different ways as possible, as long as in the end I accomplish my goal of having the student understand the material.

In addition to my peer tutoring experience in high school, I also volunteered at my old private school with the elementary grade students. I was some what of a teacher assistant that helped the students with reading, writing, math, science, as well as grading. I know how to work with all type of students and am confident that if chosen to be your tutor, I will be successful in helping your student learn.

Generally, If I am tutoring in high school math review, I will label it as SAT Math because it is a review of previous math such as algebra or geometry, etc.

Email Nicole

Nicole’s subjects

Math:
Geometry, SAT Math
English:
Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Homeschool:
Test Preparation:
Sports/Recreation:

ADD/ADHD

I have tutored students with ADD/ADHD before. I know that they need a little more attention and guidance with learning their work in order to keep them focused. I usually work with them step by step with examples and them let them try one on their own. I have been successful with students with ADD/ADHD because I help them with staying focused on their work by relating it to something they enjoy and want to stay focused on. I have found that doing that as well as figuring out a lesson that is specific for their needs helps tremendously and I feel very confident in helping others with their subjects.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been a teacher's assistant for this grade level and have helped students with their work. Specifically I have helped at my old private school where the standards are quite high (like honors classes) and I have helped the students with their work so that they can be successful in not only that specific class or grade, but for all their classes. I teach them things that they can use in that class as well as in other classes and grades as well. I have been a tutor on and off for many years and feel very confident and comfortable with my methods and have no problem finding new ones that would work better as well.

Elementary Math

I have been a teaching assistant for elementary math classes and feel very confident in being able to tutor in this subject.

SAT Math

Math in general has always come easy to me, and I mostly tutor in math subjects from algebra through some calculus. I took my SATs my Junior year of high school, and I have taken several PSATs as well prior to that. As to now, I have taken high school math classes in algebra 1 up through precalculus, as well as IB math studies, and in college I have taken different business math classes.

Study Skills

Throughout my years in school I have had to figure out more and more ways for studying. In particular, I have had to create study skills for myself that would help me be productive and learn the material. I am experienced with study skills because I have been in honors classes that required me to balance my time as well as my work in order for it to be to the best of my ability. I feel comfortable with teaching others my study skills as well as difference ones specific to their needs.

Volleyball

I have played volleyball since I was in fifth grade up through my Sophomore year of high school, on a school team. I started out on the frosh team when I first started playing and each year I moved up until I was on varsity. I was also captain of my team all throughout middle school and played libero, middle back who was in charge of keeping the ball in play at all times. It is one of the most important positions on the court. I am also familiar with the other positions because I used to play them all. Throughout high school I also played on the school team in games and tournaments and was also libero. Now I just play for fun, but have not lost any skills and know all the fundamentals and how to teach someone who has never played before the skills that they need to become a successful player.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Nicole

back to top

Education

California State University, Sacramento (Child Development)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Cancelation policy: I need at least 24 hours advanced notice otherwise you will be charged half the rate. Thank you.

Travel policy

Nicole will travel within 20 miles of Sacramento, CA 95819.

Email Nicole

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Nicole a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Nicole or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.