Search 75,980 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Garrett W.

Eagle Scout English and Spanish teacher

Petaluma, CA (94975)

Travel radius
1 miles
Hourly fee
$15.00
Email Garrett W.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Garrett W.

Garrett W. passed a background check on 1/6/14. The check was ordered by Garrett through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Garrett, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a 20-year-old Eagle Scout and SRJC student who had a 4.0 in my senior year of high school and have had all A's and B's throughout my 7 semesters (6 B's, 9 A's). I am planning on transferring to Sonoma State to get my teaching credentials and degree and then an English and Spanish teacher at a school for learning disabilities. I am currently tutoring Spanish 1 and 2 at the tutoring center at the JC Petaluma campus, which required my Spanish teacher, who I've taken for Spanish 1, 2, 3, and now 4, to recommend me. I enjoy helping others with my skills, whether volunteering in Mexico building houses or helping a student understand schoolwork. While I am qualified to do Math, my great passion is the word and language, and that passion and my knowledge of its ins and outs, both with Spanish and English, will prove useful when helping students. Unfortunately, because I either bike or take the bus everywhere, I am unable to tutor outside of Petaluma.

Email Garrett

Garrett’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Grammar, Spanish
Homeschool:
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Language:
Math:
Algebra 1, Prealgebra
English:

Algebra 1

I finished College-level Algebra last year with an A.

Aspergers

I have Asperger's, but I went to a school called Anova which is for Learning disabilities in Santa Rosa for 6 years, and now am a fully functioning adult who is planning on graduating from Santa Rosa Junior College in the Fall of 2014 and transferring to SSU to get my credentials to go back and teach there. For Asperger's students, I bring my personal ability to empathize with the students and my knowledge of the techniques and things that helped me and didn't help me. However, I do keep in mind that all people and situations are different, and that my knowledge of what has helped me does not trump what a parent has found to help their own child. I know the struggle that both parents AND children go through when dealing with Asperger's, and will yield to your knowledge and requests about your child.

English

I completed English 1A at SRJC last year with a B, which is transfer-level English, and I am planning on being an English/Teaching Major at Sonoma State University.

Reading

I have been reading since I was 4, and have since far excelled the usual reading level system. By 6th grade (I think, maybe earlier)I was reading at 12th grade reading level, and have only grown from then. I'm quite skilled with the various intricacies and eccentricities of language, and I'd always be glad to share my knowledge of those with students.

Spanish

I'm a Spanish 4 student, and am tutoring at our tutoring center for Spanish 1 and 2. I am at the moment debating with myself on whether or not to do a minor in Spanish along with my English Major and teaching credential at Sonoma State University. I have gone 6 times to Mexico to build houses during Spring Breaks, and this plus being in Spanish 3 and 4, where speaking in Spanish in class is part of the participation grade, has given me experience in speaking the language as well.

Vocabulary

While I was in High School, I ended up on my own track when it came to vocabulary. They had sheets of different facets that I completed quite quickly, to the point where I had completed all the books of these sheets that they had. I'm at age 20 now, and I've continuously read more and more, and thus have my vocabulary far beyond most people of my age. As someone who considers themselves a logophile (lover of words), I have also taught myself lots of the "behind the scenes" parts of language, like the different roots from Greek, Latin, German, and others that permeate the English language. Unlike others who have such a skill, I wouldn't look down on someone who hasn't spent so much time reading, and I'd be extremely glad to share my knowledge with any student who desires my assistance. I am also planning on being an English special education teacher, so teaching with English stuff now would help me to my goal.

Writing

I am an avid lover of writing, and am in the process of writing a book myself. As a tutor, I wouldn't just focus on the nitty-gritty grammar details, but I'd also help make the sentences flow. As long as a student is willing to learn and ask questions, I shall teach and answer whatever questions they have, so we can make what is written on the paper match the masterpiece in their mind. I'm actually planning on becoming an English special education teacher, and any tutoring in this field would help my career goals as well.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Garrett

back to top

Education

SRJC

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $15.00

Travel policy

Garrett will travel within 1 miles of Petaluma, CA 94954.

Email Garrett

Send Garrett a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Garrett or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.