Search 74,326 tutors
Over 5 tutoring hours

David D.

Experienced English, Foreign Language, and Liberal Arts Tutor

Orinda, CA (94563)

Travel radius
25 miles
Hourly fee
Email David D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for David D.

David D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to David, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

About Me:

I am a proponent of the Socratic method. I am convinced that simply loading a student with information will not help him/her truly master a subject. Rather, I find that, by guiding a student through his/her intellectual inquiry and asking questions that support that inquiry, a teacher/tutor can most effectively help the student to internalize and personalize knowledge.

My major academic focus for my BA was Ancient (Attic and Biblical) Greek and Latin. I have supported this with significant study in theoretical linguistics, English language and literature, anthropology and social studies, history, and more.

I recently completed an MA program in Comparative Religions at the University of Erfurt in Germany. I have lived in Germany for several years, and am proficient in German. I have lived in Russia and Morocco, and I have a reasonable command of Russian and Arabic, so I am able to help with the study of those languages on the beginner to intermediate levels.

After a combination of home-schooling and charter-schooling, I finished my BA at UC Berkeley at age 18 -- my main areas of expertise are with the home-schooled and with gifted/talented/accelerated students.

I have several years of experience working on translations (from German and Russian into English) and copy-editing, specifically for academic texts. I am also a published author.

I used to compete in swimming, racquetball, dance, and more. I am now an active competitive fencer. I am "C" ranked in epee and "E" ranked in foil. I have competed in the Junior Olympics (under 20 national championships), the Junior National Championships, the Division III and Division II Summer National Championships, the German University National Championships, and numerous college and national division tournaments.

I have played classical and folk guitar for years, and have sung in several church choirs.

Tutoring/Teaching Experience:

I mainly work with free-lance one-on-one tutoring at the moment. I have tutored social science, Latin, Greek, English, and German privately to students as young as eight and as old as forty (both in person and online).

I taught ESL and music at orphanages and schools in Indonesia on a three-month volunteer project in 2010.

I tutored 6th grade students at Willard After School Program in Berkeley California from 2008-2009. Subjects included mathematics, social sciences, and English. Also at Willard After School, I volunteered in the program Future Leaders for Peace, a program that "teaches young people positive leadership and interpersonal skills, and creates a movement of change by inspiring them to share these skills with others."

In the summer of 2008, I participated in a three-week volunteer project in Albania.
Along with 4 other volunteers, I designed a summer camp for fifty Albanian middle-schoolers, teaching subjects as various as English as a second language, arts and crafts, and music.

I worked as a college Latin, math, and English as a second language tutor from 2005-2007 at the Santa Rosa Junior College Tutorial Center.

I have extensive experience tutoring both in person and online.

I am currently available both for online tutoring and for in-person tutoring in the East Bay.

Email David

David’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, German, Grammar, Greek, Latin, Proofreading, Russian
Ballroom Dancing
Test Preparation:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Precalculus, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Phonics, Special Needs
Ballroom Dancing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
American History, Classics, European History, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Arabic, ESL/ESOL, German, Greek, Latin, Russian, TOEFL
Philosophy, Sociology
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Precalculus
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing


I have a summa cum laude B.A. in classical languages (Attic Greek and Latin) from the University of California, Berkeley. I was awarded the Departmental Citation for Distinction in the Major in 2009, upon graduation.

Further, I have tutored Latin and Graeco-Roman history and mythology extensively on a private basis, as well as at the Santa Rosa Junior College Tutorial Center from 2004 to 2007.


I can tutor Attic Greek (i.e. Ancient Greek) and NOT Modern Greek.

I have a summa cum laude B.A. in classical languages (Attic Greek and Latin) from the University of California, Berkeley. I was awarded the Departmental Citation for Distinction in the Major in 2009, upon graduation.

Further, I have tutored the Latin and Attic Greek languages (as well as Graeco-Roman history and mythology) extensively on a private basis, as well as institutionally at the Santa Rosa Junior College Tutorial Center from 2004 to 2007.


I have an M.A. degree in comparative religions (major field of focus: Orthodox Christianity; minor field of focus: Islam) from the University of Erfurt, Germany, where I was a Fulbright scholar researching medical ethics in Abrahamic religious traditions. For that reason, my special area of knowledge is in Judeo-Christian and Muslim traditions. My thesis was on the biopolitical interactions between the Orthodox Christian and Muslim communities in contemporary Russia.


I am a heritage speaker of Russian, who grew up in a Russian-speaking community within the San Francisco Bay Area. During my childhood, I attended "Russian School" at night after regular school and on weekends as a child, and was further constantly surrounded by Russian speakers in my community, where church services were conducted in Russian and Church Slavonic.

I have an M.A. degree in Orthodox Christianity, and since Russian was useful for my studies and research, I participated in several semesters of Russian classes at my university during my M.A. studies. Further, during my thesis writing, I lived in St. Petersburg, Russia, for 6 months while also studying Russian full time at the St. Petersburg State University (where I was the recipient of a D.A.A.D. scholarship to study the Russian language).

My proficiency in Russian far surpasses that of someone with a completed American-style B.A. in Russian Literature.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email David

back to top


UC Berkeley

University of Erfurt (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

David will travel within 25 miles of Orinda, CA 94563.

Email David

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send David a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed David or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.