Search 72,319 tutors
Over 20 tutoring hours

Cecily G.

ESL tutoring

Oakland, CA (94610)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
Email Cecily G.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Cecily G.

Cecily G. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Cecily, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have more than 16 years experience teaching young people, and have a passion for motivating and engaging youth and adults one-in-one in inspiring learning experiences. Few things are as meaningful and energizing to me as encouraging students to have faith in themselves, persevere and improve their skills.

My original teaching background was in music (mostly as a private violin teacher), but now I am tutoring mostly ESL (English as a Second Language). Although the subject matter may have changed, I have the same dedication to championing young people and finding the best way to engage their minds. I have also worked as a freelance writer and translator and have recently taken courses in creative writing and ESL grammar. I started studying French as a child and have spent time in France and in French-speaking Switzerland. (I've also studied Japanese, German and Italian). If you're interested in general music, feel free to inquire about that as well.

Thank you for viewing my tutor profile. I look forward to working with you.

Email Cecily

Cecily’s subjects

Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:

Elementary (K-6th)

I worked with K-6 students (& students in grades 7-12) for 16 years, in schools and in after-school private lessons (music). I have also tutored one 11 yr old in ESL before. So I have a lot of experience working with children in general, and I have an excellent rapport with children, very playful and enthusiastic.


I have tutored students high school age and older in English, helping them prepare for tests such as the CAHSEE and SAT and helping them with their general coursework. I tutor foreign students in English as a Second Language as well. I have done some freelance writing and editing and enjoy creative writing.


I have been tutoring ESL for the past couple years, including a lot of English conversation practice with students. I took the course "Grammar Fundamentals for ESL Teachers" at UC Berkeley Extension and received an A.


I started studying French as a child and also lived in France for a few months with my family. I continued studying all through high school, during which I also spent a summer in French-speaking Switzerland (and received a 5 on the French AP exam). In college I spent a semester abroad in France. Since then I have done some French to English translation.

General Music

I have a bachelor's degree in Music History and Theory and taught music (private lessons in violin) for 16 years. I've studied violin, piano and voice, have performed professionally and been an event organizer for musical events. Classical music is the area I'm most experienced and knowledgeable about.


I recently took the course "Grammar Fundamentals for ESL Teachers" at U.C. Berkeley Extension and received an A.


I have edited (and proofread) academic papers, including those written in English by non-native speakers. I have taken a course in grammar for ESL teachers which has honed my ability. I am a writer as well, and my writing has been described as "crisp".

SAT Reading

I am currently working with students on SAT reading skills.


I recently took the course "Grammar Fundamentals for ESL Teachers" at U.C. Berkeley Extension and received an A. I have been working with foreigners for over a year.


I am currently tutoring at-risk youth and other high school students in writing and have worked as a freelance copywriter. I have also taken courses in creative writing and write my own poetry and prose.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Cecily

back to top


Oberlin College (Music History )

Good, reliable tutor — I had one session with Cecily to review two papers. She helped me with grammar issues and develop ideas properly. She was on time and helped me improve my papers. Her rate is fair for what she offers. ...

— Richard, San Leandro, CA on 5/7/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Cecily will travel within 15 miles of Oakland, CA 94610.

Email Cecily

Usually responds in about 13 hours

Send Cecily a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Cecily or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.