Search 75,535 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Ami S.

Patient Language Arts and ESL Tutor

Mountain View, CA (94040)

Travel radius
8 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Ami S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Ami S.

Ami S. passed a background check on 11/9/13. The check was ordered by Ami through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Ami, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I was fortunate enough to have several amazing teachers, and that has led to my interest in teaching and helping people succeed. I have my B.A in Children's Literature and 8 years of tutoring experience. I have also worked as a teacher's aide/paraprofessional in a public school for six years.

I specialize in tutoring ESL (for adults and youth), English, Reading, Phonics, Reading Comprehension, Literature, Spelling, Writing (ages 4 to 12), and Grammar. I want kids to know that learning can be fun, so I often teach using educational games, some of which I create myself. I have more than six years of experience working with kids with special needs as well. To increase motivation I often incorporate student's interests (whether it's baseball, basketball, dance, or comics, etc). into their reading and writing lesson topics and homework assignments.

Email Ami

Ami’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Computer:
Microsoft Word
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have more than six years of experience working with students with ADD/ADHD as a tutor, and a paraprofessional (in a public school). A few techniques I have used to help kids do their best include: the use of fidget "toys", incorporating movement (and/or movement breaks) into the lesson, and setting up or rearranging an environment to enhance concentration. I enjoy working with all children, and helping them become as independent as possible.

Aspergers

I am an experienced tutor with a B.A. in Children's Literature, and I have worked as a paraprofessional in a public school for six years. My main role, (as a paraprofessional), was to help students with Aspergers, (and other special needs) to become as independent as possible. This involved helping students reach their individualized education plan (IEP) goals, and integrate support services, (occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech therapy), as part of their daily schedule. My classroom experience has been in mainstream and self-contained settings. I am familiar with implementing fidget toys to help increase focus, and modifying lessons as needed to encourage as much success as possible.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am an experienced tutor with a B.A. in Children's Literature. I have worked as an aide in a public school for six years. I currently teach writing classes (at an enrichment program) to second and third graders. I have helped students in grades K-6 in all subjects for more than 8 years.

Phonics

I have spent six years working as a paraprofessional in a public school, and three of those years were in a kindergarten classroom. Phonics is a major part of the kindergarten curriculum, and I have also gained experience using phonics (sounding out, and blending) when tutoring young kids, and helping them learn how to read, increase their reading fluency, and write.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Ami

back to top

Education

Eastern Michigan University (Children's Literatur)

Fantastic! Ami has been tutoring my 7 year old son most of the summer and is fantastic. She is patient and kind. She is helping him with a multitude of subjects such as reading, math, writing, counting money, and telling time. My son is improving in all areas. I sought out tutoring just for the summer, to make sure he didn't lose what he learned over the school year. It has been so good for him I have deci ...

— Kendra from Palo Alto, CA on 8/10/14);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Ami will travel within 8 miles of Mountain View, CA 94040.

Email Ami

Usually responds in about 9 hours

Send Ami a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Ami or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.