Search 75,841 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Ivie S.

Patient Special Ed Teacher with MA and K-12 experience

Manhattan Beach, CA (90266)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$50.00
Email Ivie S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Ivie S.

Ivie S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Ivie, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Greetings!

I have taught Special Education for 9 years including elementary, middle and high school. I have tutored for 12 years, including 6 in the Southbay. I also was an Au Pair in Spain and tutor high school/middle school Spanish. I am very patient and personable yet firm. I believe in modeling, guided practice, and finally independent practice. I try to make tutoring sessions as fun as possible, but still make the best use of our time together. I have many references of students that I currently tutor and have tutored in the past. I will travel to your home, tutor in my home, or meet at a library, whichever is most convenient for you. I tutor on the weekends, holiday breaks, and summer in addition to normal school days. I always make students feel comfortable to ask questions if they do not understand material. I will do my very best to explain the material in another way. My dream has always been to help and make a positive impact on children/teens, and I am thankful everyday for the opportunity to teach. I look forward to meeting you and your son or daughter.

Email Ivie

Ivie’s subjects

Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Spanish
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ASVAB, CBEST, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TEAS
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Special Needs:
Business:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
American History, European History, Government & Politics, World History
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
Science:
Biology, Physical Science
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

ADD/ADHD

I have a Mild/Moderate CA Credential. I have taught Special Education for students with ADHD and varying disabilities for 10 years.

Biology

I have tutored in biology for 5 years and taught high school biology last year. (2011/12)

CBEST

I have taught and tutored for 10 years and passed the CBEST on the first time. I have tutored in reading comprehension, writing and all levels of math.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Multiple Subject Teaching Credential and a Mild/Moderate Credential as well as an M.A. in Special Education. I have taught elementary school for 7 years total and tutored elementary-aged students for over 10 years.

Phonics

I have taught 7 years of elementary school special education. I am familiar with phonemic awareness activities (segmentation, blending, manipulating sounds, rhyming) as well as how to teach long/short vowel sounds and blends. I have been trained in programs such as Language! and Open Court.

Public Speaking

I have taught middle and high school English for 2 years so I have assisted students with public speaking as it is one of the California State Standards. I have taught other subjects as well for 8 years.

Special Needs

I have taught special education for 9 years. I have an M.A. in Special Education and a Mild/Moderate Credential. I have also tutored special education students for 7 years.

Study Skills

I have taught Special Education for 10 years including 3 years of learning centers so I am very familiar with outlining, making flashcards, note-taking, organizing material to study, questioning, summarizing techniques such as cornell notes. I would like to receive certification in the study skills area.

TEAS

I have my high school English Credential. I have tutored for 10 years in English including SAT prep, GRE prep, and ASVAB prep. I also taught English in Spain for 2 months. I taught high school and middle school English for students with special needs.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Ivie

back to top

Education

University of Florida

Dominican University of California, Riverside (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Rate is based on experience, success rate, and referrals! Credentialed teacher with 3 teaching credentials and MA in Special Education. Rate varies with subject matter and location of tutoring.

Travel policy

Ivie will travel within 10 miles of Manhattan Beach, CA 90266.

Email Ivie

Usually responds in about 4 hours

Send Ivie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Ivie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.