Search 72,616 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Emilie P.

Effective English Tutor in Writing, Reading, and other ELA subjects

Livermore, CA (94550)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Emilie P.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Emilie P.

Emilie P. passed a background check on 6/23/14. The check was ordered by Emilie through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Emilie, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I have been tutoring for over 7 years. I have worked for tutoring companies and have done private tutoring. I also taught junior high for two years, which has given me some classroom experience. I am able to tutor one-on-one or with a small group. I am up-to-date on Common Core, and feel very comfortable providing guidance in these standards. My tutoring style is relational, creative, and purposeful. I help with homework to have a baseline, but I also like to do other activities with them since all individuals have varying learning styles. For example, vocabulary games, journaling, and creative writing. I am currently receiving my Master's in School Counseling and will be done by August 2015. I love to work with kids, especially when I am able to be privy to a child's "light bulb" moment.

I am very flexible and work diligently to provide several times that I am available. However, I do require someone over the age of 18 be on the premises. In addition, the availability of a quiet place that is completely visible while I am tutoring is a must.

I love going to the beach, reading, hanging out with friends, sports, and going to the movies. I love all superhero movies and all the movies based on books (Hunger Games, Divergent, etc.). I usually try to find some common interest with the student so that they are more comfortable with me.

I would love to come work for you!
Thank you,
Emilie

Email Emilie

Emilie’s subjects

English:
Bible Studies, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
General Computer, Macintosh, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
History:
Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, Handwriting, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Elementary (K-6th)

I have worked with many elementary children in the past. I have also worked for two tutoring companies, and taught in a classroom for 2 years. My resume (available upon request) shows all of these experiences and qualifications.

English

I have been qualified in Grammar, English, handwriting, vocabulary, spelling, writing, and many other subjects! I have taught these subjects to many tutoring students and have used formal curriculum for junior high aged students.
Some of my students have spent three months with me just learning handwriting and acquiring stronger reading skills. I have a Master's degree which adds to my skills in writing, critical thinking, and grammar.

Handwriting

I have tutored in handwriting many times. I use handwriting in my everyday life, and have a firm grasp on the formation of letters (upper and lower case). I had my last student for over 6 months (he could not write any letters before) and he has beautiful handwriting.

Macintosh

I have used a Mac for several years. along with a PC. I own both, which helps when an individual wants to cross over to either a Mac or PC.

Microsoft Windows

I am currently a graduate student and use Windows everyday. I am familiar with all Windows, including Windows 8. I have taught many individuals how to use Windows, even those who had never touched a computer before.

Writing

I have a specialty in writing for all ages. I have experience with persuasive, expository, and narrative writing. I also teach descriptive and creative writing skills, along with mechanics and format. I also am familiar with some of the new common core requirements. This is all along with skills in spelling, vocabulary, handwriting, and grammar.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Emilie

back to top

Education

Grand Canyon University (Psychology)

Denver Seminary (Master's)

Capella University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 10 hours notice required

If you have more than one student, I only charge 65.00 for both.

Travel policy

Emilie will travel within 20 miles of Livermore, CA 94550.

Email Emilie

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Emilie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Emilie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.