Search 72,548 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 50 tutoring hours

Sarah A.

La Jolla, CA

$50/hr

Master's Degree in Early Childhood Education

Usually responds in about 7 hours

Master's Degree in Early Childhood Education

Message Sarah

Send Sarah a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sarah or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hello!
I am so excited you have decided to journey into the idea of private tutoring and teaching for your child. Teaching has been my passion since I was very young; impacting a child's life is the most rewarding experience I have ever come by. As a teacher of many classrooms, I chose to start in home tutoring because of the phenomenal effectiveness it has on a student's ability to learn.

My passion and goal in life is to better today's youth by providing them the education they deserve. I have years of experience as a mentor, tutor and teacher in Oregon, Colorado and California. I completed my Master's Degree in Early Childhood Education in 2012 and have since become a full time tutor for multiple families in San Diego, CA.

I tutor in all academic subjects for elementary aged students as well as special needs students. I also privately tutor adults in various subjects as well. My teaching philosophy revolves around patience, attentiveness and adaptation to the student's specific learning style!

I believe an education takes you places. Being able to learn and to apply yourself in school comes naturally for some students and more difficult for others. Which is why I pride myself on having the patience, motivation and the knowledge to be able to help students of all ages who are in need of some extra assistance with their learning!

Testimonials

"My kid loves to learn with Sarah"

- Kyle, Denver, CO on 6/13/13
English:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Reading, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Business:
Career Development,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development
Sports/Recreation:
Ballet,
Fitness,
Swimming,
Tennis,
Volleyball
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Architecture

I have a Bachelor's of Science in Interior Design and Architecture from Oregon State University.

Ballet

I studied ballet for eight years, including pointe, and was one of the principle dancers at the On Pointe School of Ballet in Hillsboro, Oregon.

Career Development

As the Assistant Director of Admissions at an art institute, I counsel prospective students every day for admission into the institute and how to successfully obtain their career goals.

Drawing

Being an Interior Design major, I have to know the extent of how to draw artistically but also architecturally. My father is a graphic designer and taught me how to draw at a very young age.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a Master's degree in Early Childhood Education, specializing in elementary aged students.

Fitness

My first full-time job was at a gym. I had to calculate BMI for members, and show them how to properly use the equipment and resources of the gym.

Painting

I have a passion and background in fine art painting. It's a hobby of mine and it was used in my high school art classes as well as some of my interior design courses.

Public Speaking

In my career, I have to create presentations and give speeches to the employees that I train. I also have to conduct interviews with prospective students who are applying to the institute.

Special Needs

I have experience working with special needs individuals in the Special Olympics program, as well as through various ministry programs.

Study Skills

Holding both a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree, I've learned different techniques throughout the years as to the proper way to study and how to stay focused. Also as an Assistant Director of Admissions at the Art Institute, it's my job to make sure a student has what it takes to succeed in school.

Swimming

In college I swam laps every day for exercise at the university's pool. When I was younger, I exceeded all of my swimming lessons at such a young age that the next lesson in the sequence was on how to be a lifeguard... But I was too young to become one.

Tennis

I took two years of tennis courses in college, and still play today as a hobby.

Volleyball

I've played for multiple years in the San Diego beach volleyball recreational league, and continue to play as a hobby. I've also played in both indoor and outdoor leagues in Portland, Oregon and Denver, Colorado. I coach players on how to serve the ball properly and how to play cooperatively as a team!

Oregon State University
Ashford University
MEd

Education

Oregon State University

Ashford University (MEd)

My kid loves to learn with Sarah — My kid loves to learn with Sarah Great helpful attitude to help my six year old thrive! We spent some time together (all three of us) until my daughter felt a bit more comfortable. Well, it didn't take long and before I knew it I was off on my own work while Sarah took over with a SUPER reading and grammar lesson. We really look forward to math next week. ...

— Kyle, Denver, CO on 6/13/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sarah will travel within 20 miles of La Jolla, CA 92037.


About Sarah

Hello!
I am so excited you have decided to journey into the idea of private tutoring and teaching for your child. Teaching has been my passion since I was very young; impacting a child's life is the most rewarding experience I have ever come by. As a teacher of many classrooms, I chose to start in home tutoring because of the phenomenal effectiveness it has on a student's ability to learn.

My passion and goal in life is to better today's youth by providing them the education they deserve. I have years of experience as a mentor, tutor and teacher in Oregon, Colorado and California. I completed my Master's Degree in Early Childhood Education in 2012 and have since become a full time tutor for multiple families in San Diego, CA.

I tutor in all academic subjects for elementary aged students as well as special needs students. I also privately tutor adults in various subjects as well. My teaching philosophy revolves around patience, attentiveness and adaptation to the student's specific learning style!

I believe an education takes you places. Being able to learn and to apply yourself in school comes naturally for some students and more difficult for others. Which is why I pride myself on having the patience, motivation and the knowledge to be able to help students of all ages who are in need of some extra assistance with their learning!

Testimonials

"My kid loves to learn with Sarah"

- Kyle, Denver, CO on 6/13/13
}

Education

Oregon State University
Ashford University
MEd

Education

Oregon State University

Ashford University (MEd)


Tutor Policies

Cancellation
3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of La Jolla, CA 92037

Sarah’s Subjects

English:
Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Reading, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Business:
Career Development,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Study Skills,
Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development
Sports/Recreation:
Ballet,
Fitness,
Swimming,
Tennis,
Volleyball
Corporate Training:
Career Development,
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Background Check Status for Sarah A.

Sarah A. passed a background check on 3/8/14. The check was ordered by Sarah through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Sarah, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.