Search 75,920 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Chessa S.

Hardest subjects? Let's tackle them together!

Glendora, CA (91741)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$60.00
Email Chessa S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Chessa S.

Chessa S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Chessa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello, I am a 20 year old female graduate of University of California San Diego with a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Economics. I graduated in 2 years and 1 quarter without transferring from a community college and can advise from personal experience of what classes to take to optimize receiving AP credit in college. I am extremely outgoing, friendly and have years of experience not only tutoring all ages (from 6 years old to 20+) but also a wide variety of subjects (all levels of math k-12 and college level math, economics, SAT preparation, college application essays etc.) I have been a camp counselor and babysitter since junior high and always cater my tutoring to the specific needs of your child. I have a passion for learning and love to teach.

I have tutored Algebra I and Algebra II, SAT studying, college application essays, elementary school (all subjects). I don't believe tutoring should be lecturing or one-sided instruction. My tutoring sessions are very interactive and I like engaging students where they feel comfortable. For a third grade math session, I might use visual aids like popsicle sticks or white board drawings. I like connecting abstract theories with concrete and applied examples as well as combining intuition and formulas.


Hate math? Feel like you aren't good at it? Nonsense. Let's figure out a way to make math enjoyable and understandable. I have a special interest in female participation in math and the huge misconception that some people are naturally good at math and others are not. Everyone can do math: it is just a matter of correcting bad habits or helping out with bad instruction. In addition to tutoring math, I can tutor SAT preparation, creative writing, college essay applications and studying for AP tests. I got a score of 5 on 11 different AP tests and can teach strategies on how to tackle both free response and multiple choice questions. From AP Art History to AP Physics and AP Calculus BC, I have taken them all.

Email Chessa

Chessa’s subjects

Corporate Training:
College Counseling, Economics, French, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Statistics
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Reading, ASVAB, CBEST, College Counseling, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Economics, English, French, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Business:
Economics, Public Speaking
Art:
Art History
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
American History, Anthropology, Archaeology, Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Language:
French
Science:
Anthropology, Archaeology
Computer:
MATLAB, STATA
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Econometrics, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

Linear Algebra

I was a Mathematics and Economics major at UC San Diego. Not only did I take introductory classes for Linear Algebra, I also took Applied Linear Algebra which delves into 3-D vector space, orthogonalization, eigenvalues and advanced matrix computations. In addition, many econometrics classes utilize Least Squares Regressions which are grounded in Linear Algebra.

Study Skills

I am equipped to teach study skills. I graduated from high school as valedictorian, earned 11 scores of 5's on AP tests, perfect scores on SAT subject tests and a very high SAT score. I graduated summa cum laude from UC San Diego while balancing extracurriculars, an internship and part-time tutoring. I know how to allocate time to studying and can teach time management skills.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Chessa

back to top

Education

UC San Diego (Math and Economics)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 36 hours notice required

Travel policy

Chessa will travel within 10 miles of Glendora, CA 91741.

Email Chessa

Send Chessa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Chessa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.