Search 72,663 tutors
FIND TUTORS

TERRISA C.

Patient, kind, caring, knowledgeable, using cognitive psychology

Glendora, CA (91741)

Travel radius
3 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email TERRISA C.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for TERRISA C.

TERRISA C. passed a background check on 10/19/12. The check was ordered by TERRISA through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to TERRISA, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My bachelor degree was in math with a minor in psychology. I have taught k through 12 for 14 years, substitute teaching in all subject areas in Southern California and also have privately tutored students math throughout the years. Students, both my private tutees--even the male lead actor in the movie "Princess Diary"-- and also those in public schools, often commented on how much more clear and knowledgeable about the subjects I was than their regular teachers, and often asked why I did not have my own class. My response had always been "Good question!" with a smile. The truth was that I had personal projects I was working on at the time that consumed most of my time and resources. Besides, through the years, I came to discover that I was happiest and at my best in one on one and in small group settings.

I have tutored with the principles of cognitive psychology I learned in college and even before I had the course, and found great success with students of all ages. I keep myself abreast with the latest research findings on learning and in various subject areas. I will tutor or teach with all my heart and mind and strengths to help every parent with their children's tutoring needs regardless of their levels or the amount of effort it will be required from me.

Email TERRISA

TERRISA’s subjects

English:
Science:
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Language:
Elementary Education:
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Test Preparation:
ACT English, GRE, PSAT, SAT Math

Algebra 1

I have over a decade of experience with algebra 1

Algebra 2

I have over a decade of experience with algebra 2

Chinese

I was born and raised in Taiwan. After finished my 9th grade in Taiwan, I came to the USA, graduated from Cal Poly Pomona with a Bachelor's in Mathematics minoring in Behavioral Sciences, and finished my first year of a PhD program. My work background is mostly in education. I have about fourteen years of substitute teaching experiences teaching in all subject areas.

Elementary Math

I have over a decade of experience with elementary math

English

I have over three decades of experience with English

Geometry

I have over a decade of experience with geometry

Grammar

I ranked number twelve out of three classes of senior students (99% of them were native English speakers) when I was in the USA for only ten months. When I was in Taiwan, my English ranked in the top 3%. Grammar was one of my fortes.

Microsoft Excel

I use MS Excel almost every day. All MS Excel tests done in other places had been in the 95 percentile or above. I love this spreadsheet and at times program in it. I find it to be one of the most powerful business tools Microsoft ever invented.

Microsoft Word

I love the mail merge feature in this application. Anyone who is in business for themselves should learn this feature because it can save them a lot of money contracting others to do the mass mailing to solicit businesses.

Prealgebra

I have over a decade of experience with prealgebra

Precalculus

I have over a decade of experience with precaclulus

Proofreading

English was one of my fortes, grammar in particular. I enjoy proofreading.

Psychology

I find this subject to be rather useful in addition to being absolutely fascinating. I spent about two decades studying on child-rearing, marriage, family, etc. besides psychopathology.

Reading

I read every day and have a particular interest in natural remedies, alternative medicine, and the latest health and nutrition research findings.

SAT Math

I have decades of experience with SAT Math

Trigonometry

I had a 100% average in high school trig class. My high school math teacher walked into my work, and I saw him for the first time in years. I took that as a sign that I should resume teaching/tutoring.

Vocabulary

I love words as well as acquiring more words, just love this subject as well as math.

Writing

I love writing and was lauded by my professors for my writing ability.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email TERRISA

back to top

Education

Cal Poly Pomona (Mathematics)

BYU (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

TERRISA will travel within 3 miles of Glendora, CA 91741.

Email TERRISA

Usually responds in about 4 hours

Send TERRISA a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed TERRISA or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.