Search 72,396 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Laura S.

Reading IS fun!

Dana Point, CA (92629)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Laura S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Laura S.

Laura S. passed a background check on 10/14/14. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Laura, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I believe in the success of each child. Learning can be fun and individual. I was an elementary school teacher for six years (grade 1, 2, 3 and special education). I left the classroom because I was frustrated with being told what I should teach. I now do statistical research in the field of education policy.

I went to the University of Notre Dame and I have a double BA in Economics and Psychology (with a focus on Developmental Psychology). I also have a Master of Education from University of San Diego (specialization in literacy) and Master of Public Policy (emphasis on statistics in education. I am currently training for the Olympics in London in 2012 (in cycling).

I love kids. I love my job but I miss the every day interaction with students. I am a firm but fun educator. Hard work, belief in success and boundaries can set each child up for success in school!

Email Laura

Laura’s subjects

Math:
Econometrics, Prealgebra, Statistics
English:
ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Windows, STATA
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Government & Politics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism, Hard Of Hearing, Phonics, Special Needs
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT Reading, CBEST, College Counseling, GRE, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT
Sports/Recreation:
Swimming
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Statistics

Aspergers

I have a Multiple Subject California Credential that included classes on teaching students with Special Needs. In addition, I taught Special Education at the Mild/Moderate and Severe levels, both of which included students with an Asperger's diagnosis.

Autism

I have a Multiple Subject California Credential that included classes on teaching students with Special Needs. In addition, I taught Special Education at the Mild/Moderate and Severe levels, both of which included students with an Autistic diagnosis.

CBEST

I have taken and passed the CBEST and CSET, in addition to being an elementary school teacher for six years.

College Counseling

I was a college counselor for undergraduates at UCLA. I helped them decide schedules and figure out which courses they needed to select for a major or requirements. I also helped at-risk students adjust to college, study habits and time management that is required for university level study.

Econometrics

I have Master of Public Policy degree with a specialization in Quantitative Methods. I use econometrics in my current professional position.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a multiple subjects K-12 California Teaching Credential. I taught Elementary School (grades 1, 2, and 3) for six years. I have an MEd in Learning and Teaching, with a specialization in literacy.

Phonics

I have a California State Multiple Subjects Teaching Credential and taught early elementary school for six years. I also have an MEd with a specialization in literacy. I was mentored by a Reading Recovery Teacher and I have experience in all sorts of reading instruction, including basic phonics instruction.

Special Needs

As an undergraduate student, I did a personal study project with a child with autism. I also taught special education courses (early elementary and preschool) in public schools. In addition, I have worked with children with severe ADHD, ADD and dyslexia as an elementary school teacher. I also have experience with children with more several mental challenges like Down Syndrome.

STATA

I have taken advanced Econometrics at the graduate school level (Master and PhD levels). In all classes, we primarily used Stata to analyze data. I currently use Stata in my professional life.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Laura

back to top

Education

University of Notre Dame

University of San Diego (MEd)

UCLA (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Laura will travel within 20 miles of Dana Point, CA 92629.

Email Laura

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Laura a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Laura or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.