Search 73,828 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 20 tutoring hours

Karlton B.

Language lover will help you master Linguistics (ELA), Anatomy, etc...

Culver City, CA (90230)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$25.00
Email Karlton B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Karlton B.

Karlton B. passed a background check on 4/27/11. The check was ordered by Karlton through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Karlton, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Karlton- I'm 32. Although I have trained to be a high school English instructor, I am by far most effective as a 1-on-1 teacher/tutor. I have lived in a great deal of countries abroad, as well as a number of states domestically. These travels have refined my English and Spanish acumen, as did linguistics and literature in a wealth of college courses.

I also successfully studied Anatomy and Kinesiology in the aim of becoming a rehab therapist.

My sports knowledge is limited to baseball, soccer, lacrosse and rugby, two of which I have played on amateur club teams internationally (soccer & rugby). I am always hungry to learn more, and am sure that my intellectual inertia will propel my tutees/pupils to gain academic intellectual success!

Email Karlton

Karlton’s subjects

Math:
Geometry, Prealgebra, SAT Math
English:
ACT English, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Anatomy, Philosophy
Computer:
General Computer, Microsoft Word, Photography
Language:
History:
American History, Geography, Social Studies
Music:
General Music, Voice (Music)
Art:
Photography
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, Spanish, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, SAT Math, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Spanish

Baseball

I played baseball as a catcher for six years in Texas, am well versed in each component of the game, and am an avid fan. I can teach you, or improve your knowledge of the intricacies of the sport.

English

English was my 3rd language as a kid, but it is my dominant and primary language. I am EXCELLENT with vocabulary, spelling, pronunciation, conversation, grammar, reading and writing English. I have a college degree in linguistics and literature, so I can help you with English in many ways. I even have a degree in English as a Second Language.

ESL/ESOL

I am TESOL certified, and am a perennial fan of linguistics. My English fluency is impeccable, such that I can get your English to be conversant, or fluent.

General Music

I'm fortunate to have been surrounded by music my entire life, including piano lessons for years as a kid, I played the trombone while I lived in Texas growing up, and also delved into vocal performance in the last decade (I was selected for all-state chorus two years running during high school). I can help you with reading music, music theory, and general harmony calibration.

Proofreading

I used to be a copy-editor of my college newspaper, as well as a Comparative Literature major. I'm familiar with writing essays in APA, MLA and CMS formats. My grammar, spelling and vocabulary are impeccable.

Reading

I am an avid reader, and can spark enthusiasm for reading in oters, by helping maximize reading efforts, as well as helping to select reading materials commensurate to the reading desires and abilities of the individuals with whom I work.

Spanish

My first language as a kid was Japanese, then German, and then English became my principal language at age five upon moving to the USA (when my German disappeared from lack of use). In 8th grade I started my acquisition of Spanish, which was strengthened by living in southern California, where I could practice my Español regularly. In 2011 I lived in Costa Rica for a bit over 3 months, and boosted my Spanish fluency to an excellent status. I LOVE languages, and practice my 3 languages at every opportunity I get. I'm a certified teacher and am particularly proficient at one-on-one instruction.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Karlton

back to top

Education

Hamilton College, Clinton, NY (Comparative Lit.)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 6 hours notice required

Travel policy

Karlton will travel within 10 miles of Culver City, CA 90230.

Email Karlton

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Karlton a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Karlton or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.