Search 73,784 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Julia K.

English/ESL Teacher - Julia

Burbank, CA (91504)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Julia K.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Julia K.

Julia K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Julia, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hey!
My name is Julia, and I have been teaching English for 6 years. I have lived and taught in Japan, Vienna, and Liberia. I have experience teaching elementary, college, and adult English. I have taught TOEFL, writing, reading, and conversation. Most importantly, I love teaching! I love to help students who want to learn and believe that learning should be fun! I always want to tailor classes to your exact needs, and will work hard to make sure that you accomplish your goals.
My experience and qualifications:
I have my B.A. in English and International Studies.
I taught for 1 year in Japan, building the English program.
I taught for 2 years at the Language and Culture Institute at O.C.University. I specialized in TOEFL, reading and writing.
I taught for 2 years in Chicago, with a school focused on vocational skills and conversation.
Last year, I lived in Liberia Africa and worked with teachers building a literacy program. I taught in the after school program with kids 5-17.
I currently work as a curriculum developer at a Language School downtown, L.A.

Email Julia

Julia’s subjects

English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Homeschool:
English, ESL/ESOL, Handwriting, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

English

I have my B.A. in English and have been teaching for the past 6 years.

ESL/ESOL

I have taught ESL for 6 years. I have taught all areas, reading, writing, listening and speaking.

Literature

I love literature! I studied it in college, and have my certification to teach Literature in Texas.

Study Skills

I have been teaching for 6 years, and worked with a variety of different learners. Based on whether or not someone is a visual, audio, or kinesthetic learner will influence the best method for study skills. I have helped low-literacy learners, pre-literate learners, collegiate level learners, and believe that a good teacher learns her students and tailors to their needs. Focusing is very difficult for some students because they don't know how to remain engaged. As an instructor, I believe it is my job to create a stimulating environment, to help direct their attention, then teach them the tools they need to study for their subject.

TOEFL

I taught TOEFL at the collegiate level for 2 years, and have tutored many privately.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Julia

back to top

Education

Oklahoma Christian University (English )

Woodbury University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Julia will travel within 15 miles of Burbank, CA 91504.

Email Julia

Usually responds in about 22 hours

Send Julia a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Julia or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.