Search 74,516 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Lisa B.

English, Art and Education Tutor in San Francisco

Berkeley, CA (94705)

Travel radius
15 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Lisa B.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Lisa B.

Lisa B. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Lisa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Since graduating from UC Santa Cruz with my BA in Community Studies in 2006, I have worked in education and youth development. I have worked with students of all ages, providing tutoring in groups and individually. I have worked with students in various settings: in after-school programs and in their living environments. I have had experience tutoring students all subjects at the elementary level, in English, ESL, and to students who are studying for the GED.

Part of my method for tutoring is to create a plan with specific goals with the student. Reaching consensus on desired benchmarks helps to devise the tutoring program to set up the student for success. Additionally it is important to assess the student's skills. This helps to identify areas that we will need to work on, to identify the direction and structure of the tutoring session. I lead my sessions in a dialectic mode to facilitate effective communication between the student and tutor.

Email Lisa

Lisa’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Test Preparation:
College Counseling, GED, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Homeschool:
Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Spanish, Study Skills, Writing
Art:
Drawing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Language:
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing

College Counseling

From 2009-2012, I worked for a scholarship fund in which I was involved in the process of receiving scholarship applications, and providing outreach to middle and high school students looking to improve their candidacy for college and universities.
Previous to this, from 2007-2009 I worked in a dormitory for foreign students at a college preparatory school in Seattle. I enjoy providing guidance to students, connecting them to resources, and helping them put their best foot forward in reaching their personal and professional goals. Applying to college is a process of doing research, setting goals and reaching deadlines, taking standardized tests, and understanding the application process of each institution and /educational system. My goal is to assist students polishing their applications while understanding the institutions' processes at the same time.

Elementary (K-6th)

In the six years since I have received my Bachelor's degree from UC Santa Cruz, I have worked with students of all ages. I have worked with special needs students of elementary age as well as students in regular classrooms in the capacity as teacher's assistant, and while babysitting. Teaching these young students requires knowledge about the subjects and an understanding of the current teaching methods utilized at their schools, as well as the best way that students learn developmentally pertaining to their age. I devise my tutoring method by taking all of these factors into account.

ESL/ESOL

In the summer of 2012 I traveled to Spain for 6 weeks to work as an AuPair. During this time, I lived with and tutored an 8 year-old in conversational and written English. Previous to this, I worked in an International High school for students learning English as a second language from 2007-2009. I tutored these students in English grammar and pronunciation. I have traveled to six non-English-speaking countries and appreciate cultural and linguistic diversity. As a native speaker of English, and non-native speaker of Spanish, I understand first-hand the challenges that arise in learning another language.

GED

I worked as a tutor for a high school student who passed the GED in 2008 through ILSP: San Francisco's Independent Living Skills Program, for emancipated youth.

Spanish

I am originally from San Francisco, CA. I studied Spanish up to the advanced level in college. I have traveled to many Latin American countries, including Costa Rica, where I participated in a month-long immersion program, Mexico, as well as Brazil, where I learned Portuguese as part of a 4-month long study abroad program. Until this past June, I worked for two and a half years for a Hispanic organization in San Francisco, translating bilingual documents. I spent the past summer in Spain, working as an Au Pair, living with a Spanish family. Learning new languages is very exciting to me, and I am very excited for the opportunity to help others learn. Since I have been learning Spanish in many environments, including formal and informal, I have many ideas and tips for Spanish students improve their language skills. I have worked with children of all ages and will adapt our lesson plan accordingly.

Soy de San Francisco, CA. Estudiaba español en la universidad hasta el nivel más avanzado. He viajado a varios países latinoamericanos, incluso Costa Rica, (donde participaba en un programa de inmersión a la edad de 18), México y también Brasil, donde aprendí el idioma portugués como parte de un programa de intercambio por 4 meses. Hasta el junio pasado trabajaba por 2.5 años por una organización bilingüe en San Francisco, revisando documentos y traduciéndolos. Este verano pasado estaba trabajando en España como Au Pair, viviendo con una familia española. Me interesan mucho los idiomas y me gustaría mucha la oportunidad de ayudar a otros aprender. Como he aprendido el idioma español en varios ambientes, incluso lo formal y lo informal, tengo muchas ideas para dar a los estudiantes para que se mejoren su conocimiento del idioma español. Tengo experiencia con niños de toda edad y adaptaré el plan de estudios correspondientemente.

Study Skills

To teach study skills is something very specific, and it must be personalized to the individual student. Usually if a student is learning study skills, there is one or maybe a few different issues that he/she is encountering that prevent him/her from getting the most out of study time. In teaching study skills it is important to first assess what these things are before providing recommendations. There are general guidelines for how to set up a successful study session, which I will provide, and I will attempt to give the student recommendations for different methods to try that can improve the use of time while studying. The end goal is to empower the student to successfully study independently without the assistance of a tutor. For this reason, I will provide recommendations for students to try on their own outside of the study session.

Writing

I am bilingual in Spanish and English. I have a strong grasp of grammar and phrasing in the English language. When tutoring, I weave in concepts and provide explanations for the reasons certain rules of grammar and phrasing exist, rather than just correcting students, so that they can be empowered to write well on their own. I accompany the tutoring section with a grammar textbook and dictionary to use as resources for any specific concepts that may arise.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Lisa

back to top

Education

University of California, Santa Cruz, CA

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Lisa will travel within 15 miles of Berkeley, CA 94705.

Email Lisa

Usually responds in about 2 days

Send Lisa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Lisa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.