Search 75,770 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Gill L.

Fun, patient Piano and Chinese teacher for Everyone

Arcadia, CA (91006)

Travel radius
5 miles
Hourly fee
$70.00
Email Gill L.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Gill L.

Gill L. passed a background check on 4/30/14. The check was ordered by Gill through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Gill, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

We all know that life is a continuous learning process, but sometimes we all need a little lift. My name is Gill, and I have been teaching for more than 10 years. Piano and Mandarin Chinese are my specialties. However, my passion for teaching doesn't stop just there because I know teaching is also the best learning experience for me.

Before age 13, I lived in Taiwan and went to music school there. I am a native Mandarin speaker and a classical trained pianist. My teaching styles varies with every student because everyone's need and way of learning are all different. Making my piano class fun and Chinese class practical are the first priorities!

Depends on my students and parents' goals, either they just want to have fun learning music or take it all the way to write essays in Chinese, I'm all for it! I have a B.A. degree on psychology, and minor in criminal justice from Cal Poly Pomona, and I use positive reinforcement as my main teaching approach. For younger students, I use tokens then exchange for rewards to motivate and to make learning like games.

I look forward to hear from you to learn together and to reach your goals!

Email Gill

Gill’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Chinese, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Piano, Prealgebra, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Study Skills
Music:
Ear Training, Music Theory, Piano
Language:
Chinese, ESL/ESOL
Science:
Biology, Psychology
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading

Algebra 1

I tutor math up to Algebra 2, so Algebra 1 is the combination of all elementary math plus the introduction of graph function. Algebra is my forte because I was science major in community college, and Algebra was one of the requirements before completing my AA degree.

Autism

I have been working with kids who have diagnosed with autism for more than three years now. It is a wonderful experience for me able to provide academic and musical skills for them. I also have a bachelor degree in psychology from Cal Poly Pomona, so I can direct them from what I have studied and my personal experience.

When I tutor, I make sure that we learn at the speed they are comfortable with. I also have a basic understanding of ABA technique, so I apply reinforcement, attention avoidance, and redirection when it's the appropriate time.

Chinese

I was raised in Taipei, Taiwan for the first 13 years (k-7) of my life. I am a native speaker so I can read, write and speak Mandarin Chinese fluently.

My teaching methods involve using Pinyin system then transition to the student's goal; either just conversational or all the way to write Chinese essays (simplified or traditional characters is up to my students).

In addition to just learning the language, I can explain cultures differences, idioms, and philosophies that are differ from the Western culture.

I have been teaching Chinese for more than 3 years; all levels are welcome.

Ear Training

I have taken private piano lessons since I was 4-year-old until I was 18, graduated from high school. Plus, I went to music school when I was in Taiwan so I have a solid ear training, and piano skills. I have been teaching piano for more than 12 years, and I teach all level from beginners to advanced students.

Piano

I have been teaching piano for more than 12 years, and I teach all level from beginners to advanced students.

Study Skills

I have been tutoring kids for about 10 years and study skills are also what I teach when I tutor. Time management, being persistent, and high-light the important points are the keys for study skills. I usually introduce these skills on all of my lessons if I feel my student need to understand better to continue to learn.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Gill

back to top

Education

Cal Poly, Pomona (Psychology)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $70.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Chinese and Piano Lesson: $70/hour/student ESL: $40/hour/student

Travel policy

Gill will travel within 5 miles of Arcadia, CA 91006.

Email Gill

Usually responds in about 4 hours

Send Gill a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Gill or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.