Search 73,884 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 5 tutoring hours

Matthew A.

Matt: Brainiac Tutor!

Tempe, AZ (85281)

Travel radius
10 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Matthew A.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Matthew A.

Matthew A. passed a background check on 7/22/14. The check was ordered by Matthew through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Matthew, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hello,
I have been tutoring children since I was 16 in the honor society in Central High School here in Phoenix. I continued that tutoring trend in Claremont Mckenna College when I became an upward bound tutor to earn money as I worked to graduate with dual degrees in Philosophy and Government. I specialized during that time in teaching calculus, geometry and trigonometry as well as helping students with writing and the social sciences.

After graduation, I joined Teach For America to help bridge the education gap here in the US. During my first two years where I taught 3rd and 4th grade, I also earned my Master's Degree in Elementary Education along with my teaching certification from Arizona State University.

I have now taught in the classroom for 6.5 years with two of those years of teaching occurring in Japan where I taught English to students as young as 4 all the way to my oldest adult student who was 86.

I am passionate about helping students succeed and I have learned over my extensive years of tutoring and teaching that each student truly is unique and helping each student achieve requires a little extra thought and imagination to allow them to achieve.

I am happy to meet new growing students to help achieve their goals.

Email Matthew

Matthew’s subjects

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Science:
Philosophy
Computer:
Microsoft Word
History:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Business:
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Handwriting, Prealgebra, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, College Counseling, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
College Counseling, Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

College Counseling

I worked as a college counselor to underprivileged teens as an upward bound counselor/tutor for 2 years.

I have a small business where I have helped over 10 students with picking and applying to colleges.

Elementary (K-6th)

I earned my Masters Degree in Elementary Education in 2010. I earned my elementary teacher's certification the same year.

I have worked in American Elementary Schools for 4 years. (2 years in Isaac School District, 2 years in ASU Preparatory Academy District)

I have worked in Japanese Elementary Schools for 2 years (Himeji Board of Education).

Geography

I have taught geography in a k-12 setting for six years as a classroom teacher. I have also learned extensively about geography due to my major in government.

Handwriting

I have my master's degree in Elementary Education. I had an after school class for 2 years that taught, among other things, cursive and handwriting.

Phonics

I have my master's degree in Elementary Education. I was a Teach For America teacher specifically trained to assist early readers. I taught ELL, Special needs students, and low 3rd and 4th graders who needed phonics assistance for 4 years.

Political Science

I have a degree in Government (Political Science) from Claremont Mckenna College.

Public Speaking

I was Oratory State champion in 1999.

I have been a speech and debate coach for 3 years at a High School.

Reading

I have earned a Master's Degree in Education.

I have been a classroom teacher for six years teaching elementary reading all the way to high school literature comprehension.

SAT Math

I personally earned an 800 on the SAT math portion, and I have helped many high school students up their score by a minimum of 30 points on the math section and I have had multiple students grow by 150+ points.

Social Studies

I have a bachelors degree in Government (Political science) and Philosophy from Claremont Mckenna.

I have also taught Social Studies in elementary school for 4 years.

Study Skills

I have a masters degree in Elementary Education. I have taught in the classroom for 6 years. I have my teaching certification.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Matthew

back to top

Education

Claremont McKenna College (Philosophy, Poli Sci)

Arizona State University (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Matthew will travel within 10 miles of Tempe, AZ 85281.

Email Matthew

Usually responds in about 3 days

Send Matthew a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Matthew or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.