Search 73,317 tutors
Over 10 tutoring hours


Holistic LifeCoach-Effective essay writing,reading& math-SIMPLE & FUN!

Phoenix, AZ (85048)

Travel radius
25 miles
Hourly fee
Email MARTY C.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for MARTY C.

MARTY C. passed a background check on 8/20/13. The check was ordered by MARTY through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to MARTY, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

My name is Marty and tutoring, coaching and mentoring is my true 'calling' and passion. I am an American but I've had a very diverse upbringing and education, including completing my primary and secondary (high school) education in London, UK (in the British school system), completing a Polish High School at the same time (through the Consulate school in London), studying for a year at a private Business School in Warsaw and finally obtaining a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration with minors in Management and Marketing from Campbell University, North Carolina, graduating Summa Cum Laude in 2002.

I can bring the diversity and effectiveness of the European educational system and standards to you and/or your children.

Growing up in England, I developed a passion for English and excelled in essay composition, international literature, writing, reading, spelling, proper grammar and oral presentations (communication/public speaking). Writing effective, informative and passionate essays/papers on any subject (but especially literature) has been the most exhilarating, easy and fulfilling activity for me ever since high school.

Obviously I had an appreciation for language arts and literature to begin with, but I perfected my essay/paper writing skills with the inspiration and help from a few amazing professors I was fortunate to encounter on my educational journey.

So, you see, I strongly believe that with the right, individualized, fun approach, unique inspiration and step by step, logical-progression instruction, one can become an amazing writer!

I intend to bring that same INSPIRATION and CONFIDENCE to my students and show them how to develop their OWN interesting style of writing and insert their thoughts, convictions and passion into the subject at hand.

I also bring a very simple and fun approach to basic math and algebra skills. I intend to make these two subjects SUPER EASY for you. I know what it feels like when you're in a classroom environment and you do not understand a certain concept due to only one-time or one-way explanation. Everyone processes information differently and learns differently. I find that being able to explain concepts or techniques in different ways, from different angles or perspectives, sometimes rephrasing or using different imagery, allows a more effective, immediate understanding.

Being a very creative and communication-oriented person, I will take away the fear or hesitation you may feel towards math and algebra and will make those subjects fun and easy for you!

I have coached both middle school children (assisting at a school) and adults in math.

I bring patience, passion for learning and mentoring, respect, inspiration and ... my own fun, unique WAY.

I can teach you OUTSTANDING organizational skills, study skills, testing skills and time management skills.

Attending and graduating TWO high schools simultaneously in London required a lot of personal commitment, discipline and high organization and time management skills.

I also bring experience in working with children ages 6+, teenagers and young adults.

Participating in the international organization, Camp America program, I served as a Camp Counselor and then as a Sports Director at a girl scout summer camp in North Carolina for 2 consecutive summers. I bring a lot of energy and creativity in designing different activities and programs for children and teenagers.

I have experience working with children and young adults diagnosed with ADD/ADHD.

In my personal life, I am an interior designer by passion and I am currently raising and training our amazing and beautiful border collie, Remy. I also organized and enjoy running the local Ahwatukee Active Dogs meetup group.

***HOLISTIC LIFE-COACH APPROACH***: 7+ yrs of personal research and learning of Holistic Natural Health and Wellbeing, Ayurveda and natural remedies.

I can happily incorporate learning-enhancing (and energy centering, relaxing) techniques such as Pranayama, 5-min meditation and powerful, positive Affirmations into my private tutoring sessions!

Not only will they enhance the immediate learning, but also assist in enhancing/rebalancing the overall wellbeing and health.

I can also assist with wholesome holistic nutrition that will accelerate focus and learning abilities.


Looking forward to meeting you and working together in achieving your set goals!

Wishing you a fun and happy day,



MARTY’s subjects

English, ESL/ESOL, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Algebra 1, English, ESL/ESOL, Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Proofreading

Algebra 1

Algebra was a mandatory math subject during every year of my elementary and high school education in Europe. I specialize in particular in:
- Solving word problems using equations/fractions/percentages
- Algebraic Equations
- Simple Equations
- Solving Inequalities
- Fractions and Percentages
- Equations with variables on both sides
- Algebraic Fractions
- Simplifying Algebraic Expressions

I have used the above knowledge throughout my college education, not only in my math classes, but applying it in fields such as Corporate Finance, Accounting and Business. This knowledge is valuable in future every day business/life applications and scenarios.

I have assisted a teacher in Elementary School in North Carolina with Algebra classes, focusing mainly on simple equations, algebraic fractions and solving word problems. I have coached both my stepson (through grade school) and my husband (through college) in Algebra I.

I have a unique approach in explaining word problems and converting them into easily understood equation format.

Elementary Math

I have assisted a teacher in Elementary School in North Carolina with math classes. We would split the class into smaller groups and tutor each group individually, which allowed for more personalized explanation techniques, better/faster comprehension by the students and more participation from each individual student. Smaller group tutoring encouraged more questions from students that needed additional explanations (due to more relaxed atmosphere and less intimidation factor).


I have a strong educational background in Prealgebra as it was a continuing compulsory math subject repeated in every grade of my elementary and high school education in Europe. I specialize in ARITHMETIC, FRACTIONS, EQUATIONS and ALGEBRAIC FRACTIONS. As part of general Math classes, I have assisted a teacher in Elementary School in North Carolina with Pre-algebra topics, covering a variety of topics within Prealgebra, but focusing on fractions, simple equations, algebraic fractions and basic arithmetic operations. I have also coached and prepared my husband for Prealgebra and Algebra I classes required during his college degree, as well as worked with my stepson on Prealgebra during his grade school.

Study Skills

Having attended and graduated from 2 high schools simultaneously in London, UK, and participating in an accelerated college degree program, I developed excellent study and time management skills.
I excel at organization, focus, prioritizing tasks & information blocks, highlighting key elements, memorization, research and effective test taking. I can absolutely assist in developing or sharpening of these skills in others, as I have tutored my husband to help him through college and my stepson through grade school.


My European education included a heavy focus on international (world) literature and essay/paper writing based on that literature. My reading curriculum would average approximately 15-20 books per year, with an equivalent number of literary essay assignments within the school year. The essay papers would not only cover a specific, limited topic of one particular book, but many times also cover the entire literary period or a philosophical question.
I have always had a passion for writing and my demanding educational background allowed me to develop excellent writing skills.

I specialize in inspiring, enlightening, passionate, informative, opinionated and evaluative essays/papers, as well as public speeches and business and marketing papers/presentations (based on my college education).
I can definitely teach or assist in simple writing, whether homework related in any subject or just for the fun of practicing.

I have mentored my stepson and my husband in their writing skills.

Read all subject qualifications ยป


back to top


BS-Campbell University (Busn Admin, Mngmt)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $37.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

***SPECIAL PRICING OFFER*** $32.00 per hour for students requiring 3+ hours of tutoring per week (must set and commit to full month's schedule in advance)

Travel policy

MARTY will travel within 25 miles of Phoenix, AZ 85048.


Usually responds in about 1 hour

Send MARTY a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed MARTY or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.