Search 75,065 tutors
FIND TUTORS

Vanessa O.

Home School/Tutor

Elfrida, AZ (85610)

Travel radius
40 miles
Hourly fee
$30.00
Email Vanessa O.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Vanessa O.

Vanessa O. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Vanessa, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

Hi to everyone! I live in south eastern Arizona with my four children ages 5-17. For twelve years I home schooled my children through all grades k-12. I have a Bachelors degree in Business Administration with a minor in Computer Science. I also have a valid Arizona IVP fingerprint card and substitute teaching certificate. My children of their own choosing are attending public school now and I feel that helping other kids with their educational journey is where I need to be now.

Email Vanessa

Vanessa’s subjects

Corporate Training:
Economics, Grammar, Law
Homeschool:
Economics, Elementary (K-6th), Reading, Study Skills
Special Needs:
Business:
Economics, Law, Marketing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
History:
Geography, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Science:
Geology, Nutrition, Philosophy, Sociology, Zoology
English:
Bible Studies, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

ADD/ADHD

I home schooled my now 12 year old daughter k-4th grade. She was diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 5. I refused conventional medications and treated her with diet and love! She is now enrolled in public school in the 7th grade. Her last report card was as follows: 80 grammar, 86 Math, 90 reading, 97 Science, and 99 Social Studies!

Bible Studies

I was raised in a Christian home and had private Bible studies from 13 -30 years. I study Religious history on my own in order to compare the history of the world to the modern day Bible. In college I translated Bible verses to Hebrew and back to grasp fully the contexts and constraints of English on the Bible translations. I am also very familiar with the Torah and the Quran and their validation of the Bible history.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have an Arizona substitute teaching certificate and fingerprint card. I home schooled my now 17 year old daughter from k-8th grade. She is now enrolled as a Senior in public school. Her current GPA is a 3.96! I can provide a copy of her transcripts if needed.

Marketing

I attended Piedmont College from 1992-1996 and obtained my BBA. While there I took Marketing 320 and my final grade was a 3.0

Nutrition

I was a caretaker for my grandmother in her last years battling kidney failure. That caused me to research foods and herbs and their interactions with the human body. I have four children still at home. Two of these have never been sick enough to go to the doctor and have a shot. I spend hours researching nutrition and its impact on children's learning, adult health and aging adult diseases.

Phonics

I taught three of my five children to read at home using phonics. My now 7 year old second grade daughter has a 99 average on phonics and is the top reader in her class. I help her practice with flash cards and phonics videos.

Religion

I took religion classes as electives in College. I have studied many religions on my own since this time including Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Taoism, Native American and African tribal religion. In 2009 and 2010 I made two trips to Egypt to better understand the relationship between the Muslims and Coptic Christians there.

Social Studies

I home schooled my children for 12 years. My daughter that is currently in the 7th grade has a 99 average in Social Studies and has a firm grasp on this subject because of my continued tutoring.

Sociology

While attending Piedmont College I took a sociology class and passed this class with a B average.

Study Skills

I was always a good student in primary school as well as college because of my study skills. I believe the proper use of time management and organizational skills are essential to studying all subjects. I have set study guidelines and rules at home for my children and they are all A students.

Zoology

I have a natural affection for all animals. When I lived in Georgia I visited the Atlanta Zoo and the Columbia Zoo at least 3 times a year. I take my children on hiking trips once a month to a different environment to observe and study the animals in their natural habitat. I have also maintained farm animals for most of my life and currently have a bat habitat in my back yard.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Vanessa

back to top

Education

Piedmont College

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $30.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Vanessa will travel within 40 miles of Elfrida, AZ 85610.

Email Vanessa

Usually responds after +3 days

Send Vanessa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Vanessa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.