Search 73,781 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Astri S.

Experienced Trilingual Tutor and Teaching Artist

Tuscaloosa, AL (35401)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$35.00
Email Astri S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Astri S.

Astri S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Astri, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am an experienced tutor of Spanish, Norwegian, painting, and drawing. I am a graduate student at the University of Alabama where I am pursuing my MFA in Studio Art. I have a Bachelor's degree in Art and Spanish.

Ever since I began learning Norwegian at age ten, learning and teaching foreign languages has been my passion. I have several years experience tutoring both Spanish and Norwegian. My experience includes both formal tutoring sessions that follow a textbook curriculum and assignments as well as playful, immersive, and imaginative teaching. I have tutoring experience from working at a Kumon Learning Center, Student Support Services (a federal TRiO program), and the Student Academic Support Center at my college.

I learned Norwegian in an immersion style summer camp, where I later spent two summers teaching. I later spent a year in Lillehammer to gain fluency and subsequently took college-level Norwegian courses. During college I majored in Spanish and studied for five months in Mendoza, Argentina. My experience as a student in both informal immersion settings and formal classroom learning environments has shaped my approach to tutoring, which I believe should be tailored to each student's learning style.

In addition to languages, I am also available for tutoring in painting and drawing. I am working through graduate school as a graduate teaching assistant, where so far I have taught 2d design as instructor of record and assistant taught painting, drawing, and monotype printmaking. I am happy to tutor anyone in painting and/or drawing, regardless of previous experience.

Email Astri

Astri’s subjects

English:
Language:
Homeschool:
Corporate Training:

Drawing

My work as an artist is centered around painting, but drawing is a very important part of my studio practice. I have been drawing my entire life. I have taken numerous drawing courses, including several life drawing classes. In my teaching I emphasize the importance of drawing what one sees rather than what one think one sees. I am a graduate teaching assistant at the University of Alabama where I assistant teach beginning and intermediate drawing courses. In the fall I will teach a drawing class as instructor of record at the University.

Painting

I am a graduate painting student at the University of Alabama, where I am pursuing my MFA in Studio Art. I work as a graduate teaching assistant, where I have so far assisted a professor of record for three beginning painting courses. I have worked as a teaching assistant at a local arts center and as the ethnic arts coordinator at a Norwegian summer camp. In between high school and college I spent a year in Norway studying art, and from there I went on to major in art in college. I have had six solo shows since 2009 and participated in several juried exhibitions.

Proofreading

My experience studying and teaching foreign language has made me an excellent proofreader and has refined my writing skills.

Spanish

In 2011 I spent five months studying in Mendoza, Argentina where I picked up an Argentine accent and a love of Malbec, croissants and dulce de leche. I earned my BA in Spanish in 2012, where I worked my way through school as a Spanish and Norwegian tutor. My love of foreign languages has provided me with a range of experience in teaching and tutoring. I have taught in an informal, immersion-style summer camp as well as in a more formal classroom curriculum. I believe in the power of tailoring tutoring methods to the student's learning style to make language learning fun and effective.

Writing

I have always been a strong writer, and my experience studying and teaching foreign language has made me an excellent proofreader and has further refined my writing skills. I have worked extensively with my advanced foreign language tutoring students on writing clearly and concisely. When working with a student on a writing assignment, I do my best to help guide the student without doing any of the work for him or her. I ask lots of questions, point out awkward sentences and clauses, and allow the student to come to his or her own conclusion for how to improve the writing.

Read all subject qualifications ยป

Email Astri

back to top

Education

Luther College

University of Alabama (Still Attending) (Enrolled)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Astri will travel within 20 miles of Tuscaloosa, AL 35401.

Email Astri

Usually responds in about 5 hours

Send Astri a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Astri or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.