Search 74,321 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 200 tutoring hours

Christine M.

Spanish/ESL tutor

Chelsea, AL (35043)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$40.00
Email Christine M.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Christine M.

Christine M. passed a background check on 1/27/11. The check was ordered by Christine through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Christine, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I believe learning can and should be enjoyable. While textbooks and written assignments do have a place in my tutoring sessions, I spend considerable time in visual and conversational exercises. My lessons are tailored according to the ability and needs of each individual student. The creative approach I have to teaching and tutoring has been affirmed over the years through parents and students, as well as administrative officials.

My experience includes teaching preschool through adult level Spanish and ESL classes for persons from various nationalities. I have tutored both privately and through public and private schools. My husband, David, and I have raised six children - homeschooling each of them through high school and mentoring them through college.

My life experience includes living, traveling and studying abroad in Central and South America. I have also traveled to Asia and Europe.

Email Christine

Christine’s subjects

Bible Studies

Extensive knowledge of both Old and New Testaments of the Bible Experience in teaching pre-school through adult. Served a cumulative 5 years on the mission field.

Cooking

I've been cooking for both large and small families for over 40 years. My specialties are just "good old home cooking", soups, and cooking on a budget. I have worked with preschoolers, through adult and believe that the family meal is one on the most important parts of the day. Studies have shown that families who sit down to meals together are happier, healthier, and more connected. Students who eat meals together with their families at home often do better in school. I am also an advocate of friendship hospitality and can help with making meal planning and comfortable entertaining a goal you can reach.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have, since 1988, home schooled my own six children, and each of them has gone on successfully to college and beyond. Three of them are now teachers themselves. I have extensive experience in working with elementary age children, including private tutoring, substitute teaching, and teaching in a home school co-op.

Elementary Math

I have been and presently tutor elementary students in Math. I have experience in homeschooling my own children in Math through middle school. I have also tutored elementary Math students through both public and private schools.

ESL/ESOL

Having experienced living in foreign countries, I know first hand the frustration of struggling to learn a new language and customs of a country other than my birth country. Without the help of dedicated native teachers, I would have failed miserably. That is why, now back in my own country, I have a desire to help others in a similar situation.

I am a certified ESL teacher. I have taught ESL both in this country and in the countries of Chile and Colombia. I have also tutored elementary, high school, and adult level Spanish.

Grammar

Proper grammar is important in not only the way we speak, but also the way we write. A well written paper, report, letter, or test not only makes a better presentation, but also increases our opportunities to succeed. I believe foundations in grammar should begin early and that is why even with my youngest students, I gently, but consistently correct and teach toward that end.

Phonics

Having home schooled my own 6 children for the past 25 years, I cannot undervalue the importance of phonics in teaching students to read. My children are all avid readers and have succeeded in college and beyond. I used a phonics approach in my home school and use it in my private tutoring for both reading and language students. As well as homeschooling, I have classroom experience in public, private and co-op schools.

Reading

Reading. Such an important gateway to so many things in life! I love reading and I love teaching others to read. Whether you have a preschool child that you want to jump start, an elementary age or older child who is struggling, or you are an adult who has never learned to read, I can help you! I have had over 30 years experience teaching people to read and to read well. Knowing how to read is not only confidence building, it improves scores in ALL academic areas, leads to success in life skills, and helps one to more fully enjoy the world around them. This is the one foundation your children really need!

Spanish

My experience in Spanish includes a cumulative 4 years of study in the United States the Dominican Republic and Costa Rica. Besides living and studying in Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic, I have lived for 2 years in Colombia, South America and over a year in Chile, South America. Other travels in Spanish-speaking countries include Spain, Mexico, Panama, and Guatemala. I have taught Spanish in home school, high school, elementary school and tutoring venues for the past 20 years. I am excited about sharing the Spanish that I know and a culture that I enjoy with both students that desire to learn the language, as well as students who must include Spanish in their academic credits.

Study Skills

I have succeeded in preparing my 6 children for college level work and test taking through the past 25 years of homeschooling. My philosophy has been to teach them tools for learning and then to allow them to develop those tools and integrate them into a love for independent learning that will continue into their adult years. I have 20 years of independent tutoring experience and have classroom experience through substitute teaching and a weekly home school co-op.

Vocabulary

Having completed not only an undergraduate degree, but also a Master's degree and further education in language study including Spanish and ESL, I have had to master a broad scope of vocabulary. In homeschooling my own children and in tutoring other children, I have always stressed the proper use, spelling, and acquiring of new vocabulary in any given subject.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Christine

back to top

Education

Taylor University, Upland, In (Social Work)

Worden School of Social Services-San Antonio, TX (Master's)

El Instituto de Lengua Espanola-San Jose, Costa Rica (Graduate Coursework)

Great Tutor!! My daughter's confidence was so low and she really didn’t think she would ever be able to read. Your positive attitude and encouragement really helped her to see that she could do it and really gave her the confidence she needed. Today, I continually find her sitting on the couch or in her room reading a book. This was something that was not even a possibility 4 months ago. I want to thank you for ...

— La'Shundra from Birmingham, AL on 5/12/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Group rates available.

Travel policy

Christine will travel within 20 miles of Chelsea, AL 35043.

Email Christine

Usually responds in about 3 hours

Send Christine a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Christine or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.